Russian and Eastern European Studies Indexes And Resources

by Adam Siegel — March 15, 2017

Russian and Eastern European Studies Indexes And Resources

by Adam Siegel — March 15, 2017

As is generally the case, the broadly interdisciplinary nature of “Russian and Eastern European Studies” means that there is no single index or bibliographic tool that exhaustively covers all the relevant literature.  Conducting research in broader disciplines with a Russian, Slavic, or Central/Eastern Europeans/Eurasian focus may require relying on subject-specific indexes (e.g., History, Literature, Anthropology, Political Science, etc.).

Adam Siegel

Research Support Services
Librarian

apsiegel@ucdavis.edu

530-754-6828

Covers the social sciences and humanities with citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, manuscripts, and dissertations published primarily in Russia, the republics of the former Soviet Union, and countries in Eastern Europe.

Coverage: 1986-present
Tags: Russia, Slavic, Social Science, Soviet Union

The Current Digest of the Post-Soviet Press is a leading publication in the field of Soviet/Russian area studies. Each week, it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. Intended for use in teaching and research, the translations are thus presented as documentary materials without elaboration or commentary, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not the publishers of the journal.

Coverage: 2001-present
Tags: News, Post-Soviet, Soviet

“Библиотека содержит более 15 тысяч книг как русских так и зарубежных писателей среди которых обязательно найдётся то, что заинтересует тебя.” Open-access, full-text, Russian-language archive of more than 15,000 books.

“Библиотека «ImWerden» (в переводе с немецкого «в развитии», «в становлении») — электронная библиотека Рунета. Основана 15 августа 2000 года и поддерживается, редактируется и пополняется Андреем Никитиным-Перенским, проживающим в Мюнхене. Основные форматы: PDF, MP3 и AVI. Основной принцип — добротность электронного переиздания. Библиотека содержит самое большое в Рунете собрание авторских чтений своих произведений в аудио- и видеоформатах. На сайте Библиотеки «ImWerden» в формате MP3 можно найти записи авторских чтений своих произведений Сергея Есенина, Александра Блока, Владимира Маяковского, Анны Ахматовой, Бориса Пастернака, Арсения Тарковского, Давида Самойлова, Аркадия Штейнберга др. В разделе «XXI век» публикуются тексты, присланные авторами для издания и отобранные редактором.” Multi-media, open-access, full-text library of works by 20th and 20th-century Russian literature.

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.

Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.

Coverage: 1972-2015

BASE is one of the world’s most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

“Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991, when Boris Yeltsin signed a decree closing Pravda down. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. After the collapse of the USSR, nationalist and communist journalists intermittently published a print newspaper and an online newspaper under the name Pravda. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation.”

Coverage: 1912-2009
Tags: News, Russia, Soviet Union

C.300 English-language reviews of some 500 European reference titles. Much of the content consists of abstracts in English of reviews that originally appeared in the German journal Informationsmittel:IFB, edited by Klaus Schreiber of the Württembergische Landesbibliothek, Stuttgart. German-language publications predominate, but titles in French, Icelandic, Italian, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, and Spanish are also covered. The “Special Reports” feature offers reviews surveying reference works in a particular topic area.

Coverage: 1994--present
Tags: Europe, Libraries, Science

Open-access, full-text, Russian-language collection devoted to contemporary Russian literature by women, including prose, criticism, and theoretical works.

“The paper version, in publication since 1926, covers more than 1,700 journals, series, and continuing publications of academies, universities, and research institutes in the fields of humanities, natural sciences, and the social sciences, and it also covers the popular periodical literature.”

Coverage: 1956-1975
Tags: Humanities, Russia, Science, Social Science

“C.E.E.O.L. is an online archive which provides access to full text PDF articles from 473 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics.” Note: the Library does not subscribe to the full-text CEEOL library at this time.

Coverage: 1990s - present (varies)
Tags: Europe, Humanities, Social Science

The basic principle underlying the organization of any library is to describe the documents it contains so that they may be located.  All libraries create sets of records which describe…

Read More

UC Davis Library Catalog

Browse “Library Search”

UC Davis Mabie Law Library Catalog

Melvyl (UC System) Library Catalog

WorldCat (via FirstSearch) [via VPN]

Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (European Libraries)

“Library Search”