Scholarly Communications FAQs

by Michael Ladisch – July 24, 2019

In this Guide:

Q: I cannot identify a password to log in.

Your UC Davis campus computing credentials (Kerberos) should serve as login. Navigating via the link provided in the email you received, click on UC Davis and then login using Kerberos. This should enable you access to your profile dashboard.

 

Q: Can I delegate others to manage my UC Publication Management emails?

We are unable to change a delegate for faculty. A faculty member may delegate the right to manage their publications to another person here. Below are step by step instructions:

Faculty will need to login to their account and make the changes regarding delegates.

  1. Login here
  2. Choose UC Davis
  3. Authenticate using kerberous credentials
  4. Click on the Menu tab (second tab from left)
  5. Go to My Account drop down menu and scan the options
  6. Choose Manage delegates
  7. Make the necessary changes

Documentation on how to ensure that the new delegate is in the system as an option, along with a delegate request form if the new person is *not* listed, here.

Information for new delegates is available here.

 

Q: What happens if a faculty member does not respond to email notices? By not responding to the request does that violate a UC Davis Policy? By clicking on the site, will it show all the publications s/he has authored or co-authored?

A faculty member may appoint a delegate, but only they can appoint one. We are happy to work with you to make that happen, and the steps to claim an article.

 

Q: I reviewed a list of old publications and claimed them. However, I no longer have files for these publications, and can’t grant the U.C. any rights, since I don’t hold the copyright for any of these publications.

You’re not alone in not holding your copyright for older publications. As you publish in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us with questions about the UC OA policy.

Here are some links that might be of interest:

 

Q: My profile in the OA portal lists my department incorrectly. I can’t seem to edit this myself.

The department information comes directly from the UC Davis campus HR feed, so any corrections need to be made there.

 

Q: One of our faculty members is trying to upload an article to eScholarship but is unable to locate their department in the drop down list. Is there a way to get our department added as an option?

Your department would need to fill out the form to set up a unit in eScholarship and choose an administrator for the site who would be in charge of customizing it and managing submissions. The form and some additional information is available in our help center: https://help.escholarship.org/support/solutions/articles/9000131086-request-a-new-unit

 

Q: As a delegate for a faculty member, when I click on eScholarship to deposit an article, I see the following recommendations:

  • Author can archive submitted version (i.e. pre-refereeing)
  • Author can archive accepted version (i.e. final draft post-refereeing), subject to the following restrictions: 12 months embargo
  • Author cannot archive publisher’s version / PDF

For this journal, can I only archive the submitted or accepted version of the article but not the published version? Is an eScholarship submission necessary for each publication? For some other journals, I can see the same recommendations however some articles are already in open access; should I archive the published versions or can I just input the link for the open access? The recommendations says not to archive the publisher’s version but the articles are already in Open Access so I am not sure what to do.

Generally the journal-specific advice will only appear in the Deposit Advice box of the Publication Management System for articles that aren’t covered by a UC open access policy – so I’m guessing the article you’re looking at when you see that is from 2013 or earlier. When that’s the case, the system pulls information from the SHERPA/RoMEO database that should reflect the terms the author agreed to in the publication agreement they signed with the journal prior to publication. If an article isn’t covered by the OA policy, 1) the policy does not require authors to deposit it in eScholarship, but some authors like to do so anyway, to make their publications more findable and 2) you should follow the terms of the agreement (which is often that you can deposit the submitted or accepted version but not the publisher’s formatted PDF).

The UC Academic Senate OA policy says that Senate faculty should provide copies of (or links to) “all scholarly articles authored or co-authored while the person is a member of the Faculty except for any articles published before the adoption of this policy and any articles for which the Faculty member entered into an incompatible licensing or assignment agreement before the adoption of this policy.” It also asks for the author’s final version – not the publisher’s formatted PDF.

If an article is already available in an open access journal or another open access repository like PubMed Central, either providing a link to that version, or uploading a copy of the author’s final version is sufficient to participate in the policy. You can read more about this at the OA Policy FAQ: https://osc.universityofcalifornia.edu/open-access-policy/policy-faq/

 

Q: If a published version of an article shows up under Open Access, but under the SHERPA/RoMEO advice it says that the published version (of this article) should not be archived then what should I do in this case?

Sherpa/Romeo will only be able to provide journal level and not individual article title level information.  So while articles might be open access, the journal itself is not a fully open open access title. Authors can pay to have their articles be open access in this journal, but the default for articles in this title is that they are behind a paywall/require a subscription.

If the article that you are preparing to deposit is not actually listed as open access (viewing from an off campus IP address you are prompted to purchase the article), then it would be best to follow the Sherpa/Romeo advice and upload the submitted or accepted post-refereeing version of the paper and not the publisher’s pdf.

Q: We are currently transitioning to the eScholarship platform for hosting our research reports. We are trying to figure out whether and how we may be better able to track where our reports are being downloaded to, in order to better help guide research and policy development. Are there any options on the eScholarship platform for doing this? We don’t need to know personal identifying information, but would be interested in knowing basic stats about the number and distribution of downloads, as well as the some basic demographic information (top-level domain names would at least let us know what type of institutions are utilizing our work). I wanted to find out what our options were and whether your platform was compatible with any sort of analytics or tracking of utilization.

In addition to our own metrics, eScholarship supports Google Analytics. For more information on how to get started with GA, see the following article in our Help Center: Add Google Analytics tracking to your unit, series or publication

As for a gatekeeping function, we generally want to avoid such, as any barrier, even if small, that keeps even a few people away, is not really what open access to UC scholarship is about.  Much of what you are interested in could likely be handled by google analytics, showing geographic traffic that, with virtually no configuration, can get at a much of what you want to know about traffic to your publications.

Q: We have a course that uses around 200 readings and many of them are newspaper/magazine articles available through the library’s various databases. Are we allowed to save a PDF of these articles and post them to the course on Canvas? Currently, we give the students a file with links to the available items but they to click on each link and get to the item directly from the library.

We have had complaints that it takes the students too long to access the clickable links and they wand the actual files but I don’t know if we are allowed to post them directly.

I know that there is the new Reading List tool in Canvas but that looks like it may just provide a link as well instead of direct access to the item. I was also having trouble finding items in the various databases and am not sure if the tool can dig that far down or just link to things in the basic library search and not a specific item in, say, an EBSCO database.

We advise linking citations to the publishers website so that faculty won’t have to deal with copyright/licensing issues. While it is ok to link to published resources, there are often restrictions placed on sharing published content on a web page.

Canvas, like other Course Management Systems, is closed to the general public, and I believe in the past, some have argued that resources that are copyright protected can be shared there for education purposes, as a form of fair-use, but today the electronic sharing of published material is often restricted by licenses. As such, posting articles will involve a license review and/or a fair-use assessment.

Perhaps there is a way to make the links in the citations more efficient or direct. Some students also may be having difficulty using our VPN, (https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/service/connect-from-off-campus/) which is necessary if they are attempting to access licensed material from off campus.

 

Q: I am working with UC and non-UC employees on a white paper publication to be produced by a nonprofit organization that supports education for the community. We are assembling a citation library for our use in writing the paper. Our white paper publication will be made available free of charge to the community. It is unclear whether myself and others from UC are allowed to upload publications for sharing with other non-UC co-authors through the citation management software. Is there a restriction on sharing digital or printed copies of journal publications that I download from UCD library with the other co-authors for the purpose of writing the paper?

From what you described below, the sharing of digital or printed copies of journal articles with your co-authors through a non-public citation management software system, for the scholarly purpose of writing a white paper, falls under Fair Use. We encourage you to review the factors related to fair use discussed in linked document (Fair Use) to make your final determination.

You mentioned using citation management software for the purposes of sharing the articles. As long as the library of articles built using the citation management software is not publicly available on the web (this is an important distinction for claiming Fair Use), then you should be perfectly fine in sharing the articles for the purposes you describe.

For further information on copyright and fair use here is a link from the UC site: http://copyright.universityofcalifornia.edu/use/index.html.