Sciwheel (Formerly F1000 Workspace)

by Ruth Gustafson – August 24, 2020

Sciwheel (formerly F1000Workspace) is available through our UCD Library’s license to F1000Prime.

Although Sciwheel is freely accessible to all UCD students, faculty and staff, some may be interested in other bibliographic management software programs including ones that are open-access. Wikipedia has an extensive comparison table for over 35 bibliographic/reference management software products at:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_reference_management_software

Many of the software vendors also have their own comparison tables or charts.

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

Sciwheel is described as being “Beyond a reference manager:  An easy and intuitive way to discover, read, annotate, write and share scientific research“.

Sciwheel … “provides a unified workspace for scientists to collect, write & discuss
scientific literature. … It includes key article recommendations by our faculty of over 10,000
leading experts in biology and medicine. … F1000Workspace [Sciwheel] support[s] the entire
science writing process, from discovering critical papers recommended by our faculty
and intelligent algorithms to easily saving and annotating references with [a] powerful
browser extension.”

COLLECT – You can import references from literature databases using browser extensions;

ORGANIZE – You can save your references and/or PDFs into either private or shared projects;

CITE -You can use the Word plugin to enable specific style citations in your manuscript.

All UCD faculty, students and staff are eligible to use Sciwheel (formerly F1000Workspace).

Go to https://f1000workspace.com/

to create a free account.   [Please use your UCD email address and a unique password – NOT your Kerberos passphrase]

Once you’ve created your Sciwheel account, you will need to add some extensions and plug-ins to enable your Exporting features to work and to set up Microsoft Word for the in-text citing.

Your setup steps are:

  • Steps to install the appropriate Browser(s) extension(s)                                                                          [Available on Chrome, Edge, Firefox, IE11, Opera and Safari]
    • Go to TOOLS on the top right bar and click on the first link to your browser extension
    • INSTALL for the appropriate Browser
    • After installation, you will see a turquoise button with a white letter F inside; visible on the top far right browser bar
  • Steps to install the Word plug-in
    • Go to TOOLS on the top right bar and click on the 2nd link for the Word plug-in
    • Full installation adds the Word plugin; a watch folder for PDFs and PDF drag & drop
    • After installation, you should check occasionally to see if an Update is needed
  • OR Install Google Docs add-on

 

You can only create one Workspace but you can use the Projects option to set up topical segregations of your library. Your Sciwheel library has no limit on the number of references or PDFs.

 

Direct Export for BioMed Related Databases

Most UCD licensed Biological and Medical subject databases enable one to *directly* export source bibliographic information from the database into F1000Workspace. This is the most efficient method for building large collections of references very quickly.

From User Guide, p. 16

One-click reference saving
“Browse to a web page (for example PubMed search results):
• Click on the ‘F’ browser extension icon
• Select the detected references you wish to save
• Choose a project to save them in
• Click Add item

UNIQUE to F1000Workspace

From User Guide, p. 16

Importing references cited in an article
“Simply click Show cited articles and we will show you all the articles we have detected on
the web page you are viewing. Select the citations you wish to import and click Add items.
The browser extension can only detect articles that have a unique identifier (DOI or
PMID). So you might note a difference in the total number of citations you can import as
compared to the total included in the article you are viewing.”

 

From pp. 18-19 of the User guide:

Inserting citations
To insert a citation in your document just place the cursor and click Insert citation.
From the popup, you can choose which citations you want to insert. You can also insert
citations from Search in PubMed.

 

Citation marks
You can add citation marks in Word by placing keywords between { }, e.g. {Beddington
1994} or {zebrafish Fgf}. To convert the marks in citations, just click in Find citation
marks and we will suggest references for each { }. This feature is particularly useful when
you are offline and can’t access your references in Workspace as it acts as a placeholder.
When you are online and click Find citation marks, any text inserted between { } will be
used to search all your references for possible matches. If you don’t find the reference
that you want you can also search PubMed or articles recommended in F1000.

Using ‘Smart citation suggestions’
To help you find relevant citations we built the ‘find me a citation’ feature that uses our
smart search algorithm to automatically suggest relevant citations. To use this feature,
place your mouse cursor where you want to insert the citation within your paper then
click Smart citation suggestions.

Before requesting help, first search the F1000Workspace (software) FAQ, User Guide or look for an appropriate video.

Seven videos averaging 1&1/2 to 2&1/2 minutes: Introduction; Overview; Importing references; Browser extension: Introduction; Word plugin; Google Docs add-on; Manuscripts plugin

If you still have F1000Workspace questions, your course instructor (listed at the top of this Library Course Guide) is your first person to contact. If your instructor is not available, a team of UCD librarians work with F1000Workspace users and may be contacted by email. See the last email address below.

Technical support is available directly from F1000 specialists at feedback@f1000.com   When logged in, click on the comment icon on the bottom-right corner of the browser (pop-ups must be enabled to see this)