Selected Multidisciplinary Resources: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

The resources listed here all contain content pertinent to multiple academic disciplines.  For subject-specific resources, see the appropriate Subject Guide.

In this Guide:

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Citations from the table of contents pages of over 12,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, the humanities, and popular culture.

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.

Coverage: 1972-2015

If you have not found a particular reference in online databases, before manually entering the reference, you might want to see if Google Scholar has the citation. If so, keep in mind that the bibliographic data may be quite minimal or incomplete. You can “Import” Google Scholar references into EndNote but Google only allows importing of one record at a time.

Search for your topic in Google Scholar, click under the item you want on the link “Cite” and then choose “Import into EndNote”. Below is a box that you can check off to “Remember my bibliography manager and show import links on search result pages.” NOTE: Google does not send coding for the reference type (book chapter, conference etc.) so the record automatically goes to the “journal article” reference format. Scan carefully each imported record in case a reference type change is needed.

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, Nexis Uni (known until December 2017 as LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

Provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965 - present]
Coverage: coverage varies by title with some going as far back as 1886.
Tags: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

7

VPN
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citiation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.
Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823
Tags: Art, Biology, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Advanced search page for about 250 online journals published Oxford University Press. Disciplinary focus and coverage vary.

The e-Duke Scholarly Collection provides access to current issues of 29 electronic journals from Duke University Press. The list includes 18 titles previously available from Project Muse, in addition to other titles still currently updated in Muse.

Companion resource to Periodicals Index Online (PIO), PAO is a fulltext archive of hundreds of historical digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences; about 35-40 of the titles covered are philosophy journals.

Coverage: 1802-1995
Tags: Art, Humanities, Social Science

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, Nexis Uni (known until December 2017 as LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Tags: News
This link provides subscriber access to the New York Times website. Increasingly, Newspapers publish Web content that is not available in their paper editions (to which other licensed resources provide access) To activate access: Step 1: Visit AccessNYT.com while connected to the UC Davis network (including VPN). Step 2: Search for and click the listing for “University of California, Davis – Davis, CA.” Step 3: Click “Create Account” and complete the registration fields. If you have previously registered your email address on The New York Times site, go through Steps 1 and 2 and then click the “Already have an account? Log in here” link (below the “Create Account” button) in Step 3. Here’s what you’ll get through our campus subscription: Access to most New York Times and International New York Times content — including news, reviews, opinion, blogs, videos and more — with no monthly limit on the number of stories you can read Access content on the NYT mobile ap
Coverage: 1851-present

Current full-text of the New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review).

Coverage: 1980-present
Tags: New York, News, United States Of America

Current full-text content of the Los Angeles Times.

Coverage: 1985-present
Tags: California, News, United States Of America

Current full-text content of the Wall Street Journal.

Coverage: 1985-present
Tags: News

Scanned (not searchable) page images of:

Los Angeles Times (Library ed.)
Wall Street Journal (Eastern ed.)
Washington Post (Final ed.)
New York Times (East Coast, Late ed.)

Other resources may include searchable full-text for these newspapers but not images of the actual printed pages.

Coverage: Coverage begins from 2008 - .
Tags: News
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Electronic Library includes many resources for the study of current and historical congressional and American government issues.

Provides cover-to-cover full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text from more than 335 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio transcripts are provided.

Tags: News

10

VPN

Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors. Includes full-text of the Wall Street Journal. Coverage in more than 20 languages.

Tags: Business, News

Indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world.

Tags: Geneaology

“The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of [nearly 60,000] men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.” It also has over 500 theme articles.

The DNB is licensed for a limited number of simultaneous users. Please log out when you are do so others can get in.

Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers. Combines the core Gale Group literary databases: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Complements Literature Criticism Online.

This multipurpose database has a very useful current biography section. To limit your search to biographies, select “Biographical Information” under the “Search by Subject or Topic” option.

"The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world", according to the publisher.
Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.