Need help accessing an Elsevier journal article?

Click here
by David Michalski — November 13, 2017
by David Michalski — November 13, 2017

This guide is a starting point for finding commonly requested data series from  International organizations and foreign governments.

 

David Michalski

Research Support Services
Subject Specialist Librarian

michalski@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2086

In this Guide:

The online IHS updates the last print edition of International Historical Statistics, which was published in 2007 in 3 volumes. It now includes 260 years of rich data, collected between 1750-2010 and available online. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.

Tags: History

OFFSTATS provides links to free official statistical data sites from around the world. Find statistics by country, regional or topic. Links are to official statistical agencies in countries, international organizations, and other organizations.OFFSTATS is sponsored by the University of Auckland Library.

This resource aggregates the statistical abstracts of more than 50 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere.

Also includes data from the United Nations Demographic Yearbook, World Development Indicators, and Key Figures on Europe.

Coverage: 1878-2012
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Eurostat is the statistical agency for the European Union. The site provides access to data (monthly, quarterly, and annual data) from 1960 onwards. Topics include: general statistics, regional statistics, economy and finance, agriculture and fisheries, environment and energy, population and social conditions, services and transport and intra- extra- EU trade statistics. Coverage is Europe.

FAOSTAT is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.  FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings from 1961 to the most recent year available.  Topics include food and agricultural production and trade, fisheries, land use and irrigation, fertilizers and more. The comprehensive databases cover many countries over long periods of time.

Tags: Agriculture

The IMF Statistical Databases include International Financial Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, and Balance of Payments Statistics.

Approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries starting in 1948.

These Reports provide comprehensive statistics on international trade (imports and exports) for 1250 product groups of the Harmonized Sytem nomenclature (HS revision 1 or 2 or 3) and for more than 200 countries or territories over the period 2001 to 2008.

Coverage: 2001-2008
Tags: Business, Economics

OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all content so users can find – and cite – tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters.

Coverage: 1998-present, plus retrospective statistical data
Tags: Multidisciplinary

The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 188 countries for some or all of the years 1950-2004. The data in PWT displays a set of national accounts economic time series for the countries covered.

7

UNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.

Related links: ,

The World Bank’s Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank data sources. This listing will continue to be updated as additional data resources are added. These resources include databases, pre-formatted tables and reports. Each of the listings includes a description of the data source and a direct link to that source. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search. Those search results can be exported in different formats. Users can also choose to download the entire database directly from the catalog.

Tags: Economics

The World Bank eLibrary contains the full collection of all World Bank publications and research including: Books published since the 1990s; all World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO) since 1996; all Development Outreach issues; and all Policy Research Working Papers since 1995.

Coverage: 1995-present
Tags: Economics

IPUMS-International is an effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world’s largest archive of publicly available census samples. The data are coded and documented consistently across countries and over time to facillitate comparative research. IPUMS-International makes these data available to qualified researchers free of charge through a web dissemination system.

 

China Data Online is the primary data source for China studies. It includes (1) China Statistical Databases; and (2) China Census Databases; It provides easy access to the various statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, comprehensive statistics, and Census data of economy and population at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels.