A subject guide for sociology highlighting key resources for the discovery of research literature.

 

David Michalski

Research Support Services
Social and Cultural Studies Librarian

michalski@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2086

In this Guide:

Subject Specific Databases

Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Coverage: 1963-present
Tags: Sociology

Annual ‘handbook’ with introductory and summary articles to important and emerging issues in sociology. Contains substantial bibliographies.

Coverage: 1975
Tags: Sociology

Interdisciplinary Social Sciences

The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is particularly suited to trace citations to authors and articles across publications. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world’s leading scientific and technical journals.

Coverage: 1956-present
Tags: Buddhism, Religion, Shin Buddhism

2

VPN

Large interdisciplinary abstract and citiation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.

Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823
Tags: Art, Biology, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science

A world wide collaborative of scholars that is devoted dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, including ethnic history and relations, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.

Coverage: 1964-present
Tags: Canada, History, United States Of America

PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.

Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Psychology

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Coverage: 1973-present
Tags: Language

A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world’s economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association’s Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions; labor economics; international, regional, urban economics; and other related subjects.

Coverage: 1969-present
Tags: Business, Economics

“Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.”

Coverage: coverage varies by title with some going as far back as 1886.
Tags: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Containing over 235,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.

Related: Communication Abstracts
HUM & SOC SCI REF P87 C58
Print edition of Communication Abstracts.

Coverage: 1978-present
Tags: Communications, Mass Media

The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports from 1993 forward.

Coverage: 1966-present
Tags: Education

11

More than 27 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform.

PubMed Tutorial & more
Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]

Coverage: 1946-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine

Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials; covers journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews

Coverage: 1980-present
Tags: Community Development, Social Policy, Social Science, Welfare

An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women’s Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.

Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
Tags: Women, Women's Studies

Black Studies Center brings together historical and current material for research projects on African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases including the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, The International Index to Black Periodicals, and Newspapers, including the full text backfile of the Afro-American newspaper, The Chicago Defender from 1910-1975.

LGBT Life (previously GLBT Life) contains indexing and abstracts for LGBT-specific core periodicals, in addition to data mined from over 1400 select titles. LGBT Life contains all relevant data from NISC’s Sexual Diversity Studies database.

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.

Coverage: 1960-present
Tags: Cultural Studies, News, United States Of America

A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.

Comprehensive review articles and bibliographies, which examine the complex connections between law, culture, social structure. Its focus is on the social scientific studies of law and law-like systems of rules, institutions, processes, and behaviors.

1

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology

George Ritzer (Editor)
Call #: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HM425 .B53 2007 Lib Use Only
Publication Info: 2007-01-23

This comprehensive guide to sociological concepts, topics and authors. It is a great place to start new project, or to branch out into new areas.

2

International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences

William A. Darity
Call #: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference H40.A2 I5 2008 Lib Use Only
Publication Info: 2007-11-09

Latest edition of a classic reference source. It is comprehensive and substantial in its coverage. On the same shelf, the library maintains both the 1968 and the 1930 editions for comparative purposes.

3

International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences

N. J. Smelser (Editor-In-Chief); P. B. Baltes (Editor-In-Chief)
Call #: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference H41 .I58 2001 Lib Use Only
Publication Info: 2001-11-22

This Encyclopedia maps the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. In 26 volumes, 4,000 articles, it includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.

4

George Ritzer and J. Michael Ryan
Publication Info: Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011

Online Book

5

Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, and Africa

Andrea L. Stanton (Editor); Peter J. Seybolt (Editor); Edward Ramsamy (Editor); Carolyn M Elliott (Editor)
Call #: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HM626 .C843 2012 Lib Use Only
Publication Info: 2012-01-05

A look at social life and culture outside Europe, Australia and the Americas.

The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Advanced search page for about 250 online journals published Oxford University Press. Disciplinary focus and coverage vary.

The e-Duke Scholarly Collection provides access to current issues of 29 electronic journals from Duke University Press. The list includes 18 titles previously available from Project Muse, in addition to other titles still currently updated in Muse.