This guide provides a list of major library resources for the study of  Spanish & Portuguese Languages and Literatures at UC Davis.

Roberto C. Delgadillo

Research Support Services
Librarian

rdelgadillo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752‑8266

In this Guide:

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.

Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature

Bibliography consisting of works selected and annotated by Latin American area studies specialists. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion.

Coverage: 1936-
Tags: History, Latin America, Politics

HAPI Online is the searchable Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Coverage: 1973-present
Tags: Language

The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance includes this extensive bibliography of more than 1.1 million citations for secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.

Advanced search page for about 250 online journals published Oxford University Press. Disciplinary focus and coverage vary.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 (BETA) presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture published and digitized by Arte Público Press, the oldest and largest publisher of U.S. Hispanic literature in the U.S., covering geographically the fifty states of the Union. The premier collection documents intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country’s history through contemporary times. Currently, the collections comprises approximately 60,000 historical articles, hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. The content is 80% Spanish and 20% English.

Coverage: 19th Century - 20th Century
Tags: Borderland Studies, Chicana/chicano Studies, Cultural Studies, Latina/latino Studies

The e-Duke Scholarly Collection provides access to current issues of 29 electronic journals from Duke University Press. The list includes 18 titles previously available from Project Muse, in addition to other titles still currently updated in Muse.

The collection contains full text 19th – 21st century poetry, fiction and non-fiction written by authors from throughout the Caribbean. Included are numerous rare and hard-to-find works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages, in addition to works published by authors who have relocated to North America. The database currently has over 63,000 pages; new content is added biweekly.

Coverage: 18th - 21st Centuries
Tags: Literature

The collection contains 300 plays and more than 100,000 pages of poetry and prose written by Latin American women authors from 19 countries. Spanning a period from the colonial era to the present day, the literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials are available full-text in their original language.

Latino Literature contains approximately 380 plays and 67,500 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. The majority of Latino Literature is in English,with selected works of particular importance (approximately 25% of the collection) presented in Spanish.

Coverage: 1850-present
Tags: Language, Latin Americans, Literature

The portal provides full text access to articles in 65 periodicals edited by the Universidad Complutense Madrid. Subject focus of the journals spans the arts and humanities, the social sciences and the life and physical sciences. Articles are written primarily in Spanish; abstracts available in both Spanish and English.

Coverage: Full text available from Vol. 1 - present for most journals
Tags: Art, Humanities, Life Science, Physical Science, Science, Social Science

This collection of popular movie periodicals, archived in the Filmoteca of UNAM in Mexico City, includes Cinema Reporter (1943-1965), Cine Mundial (1954-1955), El Cine Gráfico (1935), the weekly El Mundo Ilustrado (1902-1910), and Cinelandia (1931-1947). Ephemeral materials such as film flyers and scrap books of Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958), a leading Latin-American filmmaker, supplement the full-text periodical articles.

Coverage: 1902-1960's
Tags: Film, Mexico

This comprehensive gateway leads to an extensive array of freely accessible digitized literary texts, journal articles, anthologies, essays and conference proceedings. The portal also links to other major portals, online dictionaries, and other online resources.

“Based on Joseph Sabin’s landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900’s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.”

Companion resource to Periodicals Index Online (PIO), PAO is a fulltext archive of hundreds of historical digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences; about 35-40 of the titles covered are philosophy journals.

Coverage: 1802-1995
Tags: Art, Humanities, Social Science

Periodicals Index Online is a retrospective database (1665-1995); over 300 philosophy titles are included. It also provides access to a smaller set of titles in fulltext electronic form.

Coverage: 1665-1995
Tags: Art, Humanities, Social Science

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

A subset of Access World News, Acceda Noticias consists of 36 full-text newspapers and news services in the Spanish language from the United States and selected foreign countries.

Produced by the Universidad Autonoma Nacional de Mexico, ClasePeriodica contains more than 300,000 bibliographic citations of journal articles, books, essays, book reviews, conference proceedings, technical reports and interviews published in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as publications that focus on Pan-American issues. Coverage includes articles about topics in the social sciences, humanities, sciences and technology from over 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.

Coverage: 1975-2009
Tags: Latin America, Social Science

Redalyc serves as a portal to more than 15,000 full text articles published in over 700 journals that come from 15 countries in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. New titles and older content are added monthly. Subject coverage includes topics in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and the natural sciences. Redalyc can be searched by keyword, subject, author, country of publication or journal title. Articles are primarily in Spanish. Redalyc adheres to an Open Access policy and its material is released under a Creative Commons license, with free downloads of the PDF files.

Coverage: Varies
Tags: Multidisciplinary

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.

Coverage: 1960-present
Tags: Cultural Studies, News, United States Of America

The Film Indexes Online portal allows for cross-searching of the AFI Catalog and the Film International Index databases. Combined, these two databases search for cast, character, director, and keyword information for thousands of films.

Tags: Film

Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover; 200 others selectively for articles on film and television. The freely available online version covers 1976-2001 only, while the print version covers the early 1970s and years after 2001.

Related: Print edition with current issues available in Humanities/Social Sciences Reference, 2nd Floor Shields Library, PN1993.F484.

Coverage: 1976-2001
Tags: Film

This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world’s foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.

The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.

Coverage: 1972-present
Tags: Film

Provides the most comprehensive, current bibliography of international scholarly literature in Medieval Studies available.

Coverage: 1967-present; updated quarterly
Tags: History, Language, Literature, Medieval Studies

Full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combines core literary resources such as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Cybertesis.Net is a cooperative project between the Université de Montréal, the Université de Lyon2, the University of Chile and 32 universities in Europe, Africa and Chile that allows access to more than 27,000 full text theses and dissertations. Some institutions have opted to digitize theses dating back to the 1700s.

Coverage: 1700s - present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.

Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.This website contains information about the initiative, how to set up Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) programmes, how to create and locate ETDs, and current research in digital libraries related to NDLTD and ETDs.

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,311,795 theses and dissertations.