Need help accessing an Elsevier journal article?

Click here

Intended for students and researchers engaged in translational research at UC Davis, this guide highlights important literature resources, including methods, protocols, and reference materials.

 

Megan G. Van Noord

Research Support Services
Subject Specialist Librarian

mgvannoord@ucdavis.edu

530-752-7880

In this Guide:

SAGE Research Methods (SRM) is an online collection of books and other full-text materials that provide authoritative information on how to perform hundreds of research methods.

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.

Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section, Science Education, and all journal subsections; 2006- (General); 2013- (Subsections)
Tags: Bioengineering, Bioinformatics, Biology, Biomedicine, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology, Life Science, Medicine, Neuroscience, Protocols, Psychology

This is a combined database of 3 protocols or methods resources:  Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, and Springer Protocols. Together there are over 60,000 searchable protocols and methods.

User Guide

The bulk of SN Experiments is content from Springer Protocols with over 55,000 protocols in  molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols.  These are mainly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Nature Protocols is associated with the Protocol Exchange which is an open repository through which researchers can share and discuss their protocols.

Coverage: 1980-present

Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work “Current Protocols in Molecular Biology” with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following FIVE protocol titles: “Chemical Biology”, “Essential Laboratory Techniques”, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging”, “Plant Biology” (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and “Stem Cell Biology”.

 

A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. {RG 12/11/13}

Coverage: 2006-present
Tags: Biology, Biomedicine, Laboratory Practices, Medicine, Science
Related links: Search Help

Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. As of 2017, videos are selectively being added to accompany the written methods. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 500 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats.

Coverage: -1955
Tags: Biology, Life Science

Henry Stewart Talks Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection in 2015 contains 1800 lectures, of various lengths, created by leading world experts. Additional lectures are added monthly. The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection is divided into eleven categories: Biochemistry; Cancer; Cell Biology; Diseases, Disorders & Treatments; Drug Discovery; Genetics; Immunology; Methods; Microbiology & Virology; Neurobiology; and Pharmaceutical Science. Over 100 series cover topics such as: Agricultural Genetics; Animal Models in Biomedical Research; Antibiotic Resistance; Apoptosis; Biology and Significance of Plasmids; Biomarkers; Blood-Brain Barrier; Calcium Signaling; Cell Division Cycle; Chemical Biology; Chloroplast; Cognitive Neuroscience; Cytokines; DNA Methylation; Endoplasmic Reticulum; Epigenetics; Eukaryotic Gene Regulation; From DNA to Proteins; Gene-Environment Interactions; Good Laboratory Practice; Intro to Cheminformatics; Ion Channels; Legacy of Drosophila Genetics; Mechanisms of Ribosome Function; Microarrays; Microbiota; Mitochondrial Biogenesis; Molecular Basis of Bacterial Infection; Molecular Chaperones; Non-Clinical Testing for Toxicity of Pharmaceuticals; Obesity; Prions and Amyloids; Protein Folding, Aggregation and Design; Protein Phosphorylation; Retroviruses; RNA Interference; Statistical Methods for the Analysis of Genome-Wide Association Studies; Stem Cells; Synapses, Neurotransmitters and Receptor Channels; Using Bioinformatics in the Exploration of Genetic Diversity; World of Hormones

Coverage: 2007 to date
Tags: Life Science, Medicine, Science

A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community.

Coverage: 2011-

9

VPN

A website for creating, organizing, and publishing reproducible research protocols.

UC Davis researchers have access to free premium accounts.

More information

Possibly add journals A-Z link and BrowZine link.

Link to how UCD-eLinks videos and requesting ILL/DDS.

Note about print resources

More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.

• Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews, 2010
 Online BIOSIS information 
 Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts

2

VPN

Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts.Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1974-present, with over 1 million records added annually. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms, and codes; and 80% of all citations in Embase include author-written abstracts. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries. All MEDLINE records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well as over 5 million records not covered in MEDLINE. Broad biomedical scope covering the following areas:

  • Drug therapy and research, including pharmaceutics, pharmacology and toxicology
  • Clinical and experimental (human) medicine
  • Basic biological science relevant to human medicine
  • Biotechnology and biomedical engineering, including medical devices
  • Health policy and management, including pharmacoeconomics
  • Public, occupational and environmental health, including pollution control
  • Veterinary science, dentistry, and nursing
  • Psychiatry and mental health, including substance dependence and abuse
  • Forensic science
  • Alternative and complementary medicine
Coverage: 1974-current (for EMBASE records); 1966-current (for MEDLINE records)
Tags: Allied Health, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Related links: Embase PICO search, ,

The Ovid interface to MEDLINE.Citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. MEDLINE is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

More than 28 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform.

PubMed Tutorial & more
Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]

Coverage: 1946-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine
Related links: PubMed mobile PICO interface

SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 29 million citations and indexes over 10,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. It is the online version of Chemical Abstracts. Includes Cited Reference Searching: 1996 – present.

Coverage: 1907-present (with selected pre-1907 material)
Tags: Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Engineering, Literature

6

VPN

Large interdisciplinary abstract and citiation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.

Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823
Tags: Art, Biology, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science

Web of Science combines traditional bibliographic searching of journal content across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences with broadly interdisciplinary “cited reference” search capabilities.

Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
Creating Citation Alerts for Current Awareness

Coverage: See above description (varies between 9 indexes)
Tags: Science

Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records.

NOTE: There are a limited number of simultaneous users >> please LOGOFF when finished. HAPI is an index to journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI includes citations to questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests. It is an excellent source for locating or reviewing health and psychosocial measurement instruments.

Coverage: 1985 to date, with many earlier measures
Tags: Medicine, Pyschology

Optical Society of America digital publications on optics research, including journals and proceedings papers.

PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.

Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Psychology

SPORTDiscus is the world’s leading database in sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. SportDiscus has over 1.7 million qualified references from thousands of international periodicals, books, e-journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and websites that focus on different areas involving sport, including: sport sciences, engineering, psychology, administration, sociology, history, coaching, training, physical education, physical fitness, health and recreation.

Coverage: 1800-Present
Tags: Athletics

Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.

Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

A curated reference collection in biomedical sciences, designed to serve as an in depth compendium. New articles are added on a regular basis and previously published articles are reviewed for currency to ensure articles are up-to-date. Articles determined current according to this review receive a ‘timestamp’ that appears on the article indicating the date of the last currency review. Articles that are determined out-of-date are updated. Contents include over 8,000 chapters from the following major reference works — Brenner’s Encyclopedia of Genetics (2nd ed.), Comprehensive Biomedical Physics, Comprehensive Biotechnology (2nd ed.), Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry (2nd ed.), Encyclopedia of Cell Biology, Encyclopedia of Endocrine Diseases (2nd ed.), Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition (3rd ed.), Encyclopedia of Immunobiology, Encyclopedia of Microbiology (3rd ed.), Encyclopedia of Cardiovascular research and Medicine, Encyclopedia of Neuroscience, Encyclopedia of Toxicology (3rd ed.), Encyclopedia of Virology (3rd ed.), International Encyclopedia of Public Health (1st & 2nd eds.), Pathobiology of Human Disease, and xPharm: the Comprehensive Pharmacology Reference.

Comprehensive Physiology (the online version of the Handbook of Physiology) is the most wide-ranging and authoritative collection of review content ever assembled in the physiological sciences. Comprehensive Physiology includes the landmark series Handbook of Physiology, available for the first time in an online format. This seminal series will be continually updated and expanded to capture the current science of physiology for a twenty-first-century readership. {RG 12/16/13}