Institute of Transportation Studies
TRID (TRANSPORT RESEARCH INTERNATIONAL DOCUMENTATION)
TRID includes over 900,000 records covering transportation research from ITRD and TRIS. It includes TRB publications going back to 1923, including Highway Research Board, SHRP, and Marine Board publications. Also indexed are Environmental Impact Statements, theses, reports, and research in progress. TRID is the world’s largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information, covering all modes and disciplines of transportation. Coverage: 1920s – present.
NATIONAL TECHNICAL REPORTS LIBRARY
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). NTRL indexes government-sponsored research, development and technical reports and provides full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 2 million reports with links to over 500,000 full-text reports. Our academic subscription provides access to “Digital-on-demand”, which will digitizes reports not currently full-text that UCD users find in the NTRL database.
SAE DIGITAL LIBRARY
SAE is a database of technical papers, magazine and journal articles, books, reports, and standards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers. Coverage: full-text technical papers 1906 – present, full-text journal articles 1998 – present.
NATIONAL TRANSPORTATION LIBRARY
The National Transportation Library is a repository of materials from public and private organizations around the country.
A website for transportation researchers and analysts, aimed at providing a broad collection of intermodal transportation data collected by various agencies within the U.S. Department of Transportation or by other federal agencies.
Greentech Media delivers market analysis, business-to-business news and conferences that inform and connect players in the global clean energy market. Their coverage extends across the clean energy industry with a focus on solar power and the electric utility market’s evolution.
Follow link to create your GTM account.
- Use your UC Davis email to create your GTM account
A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality — by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor — before being accepted for publication.
ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black and white striped symbol indicating the publication is “Refereed”.
ALL Journals (that UC Davis subscribes to):
Online subscriptions: the catalog will give the link. NOTE: we sometimes get online content for different years from different sources, R-E-A-D the fine print.
Print subscriptions: the catalog will give you the call number, location, and indicate whether or not it is checked out.
(formerly Harvest Catalog) The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out. If there is an electronic version that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.
Use the catalog to locate books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and any other materials the library owns.
|MELVYL UC LIBRARY CATALOG MELVYL HELP
The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions. As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials.
Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book.
Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright).
But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are intereted in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in the UCD Library Catalog or Melvyl
|More Publisher Collections
Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences.
|Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection – NOTE: Interface does not separate ebooks from Wiley ejournals.
Over 2,000 books with 2011-2016 publication dates. The Wiley ebook license comes with broad and favorable rights for, scientific, scholarly and educational uses.
|UC Press eBooks Collection [via eScholarship]–
The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library’s eScholarship program.
Books is a searchable database of books, but not all the content is available for free. To search for full-text books only:
- Go to the Advanced Book Search
- Specify your search criteria
- Make sure you select Search: Full View Only
HathiTrust is a collection of books digitized by US research libraries. You can search the full-text of over 10 million books, but access to some of the content is restricted. To search for full-text books only:
- Use theFull-text Search
- Enter your search terms
- Limit to: Full View Only (UC Davis is a partner member of HathiTrust. If you would like to download full PDFs of public domain books, you must login.)
EndNote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents.
Two versions are available:
- Endnote client/desktop: Requires installation of software, more powerful, best choice for faculty and grad students.
- EndnoteWeb: Requires online registration. EndNoteWeb allows you to store, share, and organize your research content.
- Web-based; able to access content 24/7.
- Perfect for sharing citations with a group.
Below are training videos on the major elements of the EndNote Program. For more information, you are welcome to browse EndNote’s full selection of training videos on YouTube by going to their channel, EndNote Training.
Links & Resources
Instructions for Importing Citations into EndNote
Directions for transferring citations into EndNote for the Mac and Windows are given for the version indicated. EndNote Web operates independently of version updates.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition) – American Psychological Association
Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010 (Lib Use Only)
Additional copies are available:
Shields Reserves WZ 345 P83 2010 (Two Hour Loan)
Phy Sci Engr Library Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010 (Lib Use Only)
Carlson Health Sci Library Reference WZ 345 P83 2010 (Lib Use Only)
Blaisdell Medical Library Reference WZ 345 P83 2010 (Lib Use Only)
Blaisdell Medical Lib Reserves WZ 345 P83 2010 (One Week Loan)
Visit these reputable sources for examples of APA style citations.
This comprehensive resource from Purdue University includes instructions on creating in-text citations and References lists.
Created by the University of California Libraries.
These free tools prompt you to enter in the components of a citation, and configure the elements according to APA guidelines. Make sure you verify the accuracy of your results by consulting the Publication Manual!
Developed by the North Carolina State University Libraries.
This site is maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College in Michigan. Select ‘APA’ from the Citation Styles menu.
Handbook of Transportation Engineering
Location: PSE TA1151 .H35 2011
Location: PSE Media TL5 .S6 2008 CD-ROM
Traffic Engineering Handbook
Location: PSE Reference HE333 .T68 2009
Trip Generation Handbook: An ITE recommended practice
Location: Shields HE371.A3 T758 2004
Urban Street Geometric Design Handbook
Location: PSE TE175 .U73 2008
- Motor Carrier Safety Research Analysis Committee Letter Report: March 13, 2017
- More Early Release Papers Available in the 2017 Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board
- TR News September-October 2016: Applying Knowledge Management
- Long-Term Field Performance of Warm Mix Asphalt Technologies
- Contactless Electrode for Fast Survey of Concrete Reinforcement Corrosion
- Variability of Ignition Furnace Correction Factors
- Practices for Establishing Contract Completion Dates for Highway Products
- Travel Demand Forecasting Vol. 2
- Remote Sensing with Mobile LiDAR and Imaging Sensors for Railroad Bridge Inspections
- Development of a NOx Chemistry Module for EDMS/AEDT to Predict NO2 Concentrations
Institute of Transportation Studies.
Institute of Transportation Studies. See also the Harmer E. Davis Transportation Library
Institute of Transportation Studies.
Institute of Transportation Studies.