In this Guide:

Browse all  Databases A-Z

Search Electronic Journals by Title

 

Transportation Databases

TRID (Transport Research International Documentation)

TRID includes over 900,000 records covering transportation research from ITRD and TRIS. It includes TRB publications going back to 1923, including Highway Research Board, SHRP, and Marine Board publications. Also indexed are Environmental Impact Statements, theses, reports, and research in progress. TRID is the world’s largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation research information, covering all modes and disciplines of transportation. Coverage: 1920s – present.

Compendex 

The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. About half the citations (from 2600 journals and conferences) include abstracts and indexing in the records.

National Technical Reports Library

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). NTRL indexes government-sponsored research, development and technical reports and provides full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 2 million reports with links to over 500,000 full-text reports. Our academic subscription provides access to “Digital-on-demand”, which will digitizes reports not currently full-text that UCD users find in the NTRL database.

American Society of Civil Engineers: Civil Engineering Database (CEDB)

The CEDB provides access to ASCE publications, including journals, proceedings, and standards. Coverage: January 1972 – present, full-text for journals 1985 – present.

SAE Digital Library

SAE is a database of technical papers, magazine and journal articles, books, reports, and standards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers. Coverage:  full-text technical papers 1906 – present, full-text journal articles 1998 – present.

National Transportation Library

The National Transportation Library is a repository of materials from public and private organizations around the country.

TranStats

A website for transportation researchers and analysts, aimed at providing a broad collection of intermodal transportation data collected by various agencies within the U.S. Department of Transportation or by other federal agencies.


Additional Databases

Web of Science                                     

Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemical engineering and materials science.  This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Coverage: 1900 – present.  Cited Reference Searching:  1900 – present.

Scopus

Scopus indexes, selectively abstracts and provides citation analysis for approximately 20,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers, as well as 2,600 open access journals, published sets of conference proceedings, trade publications, books, patents (from the USPTO, European Patent Office, Japan Patent office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office) and millions of selected web pages. Coverage extends across disciplines in the life and health sciences, the physical sciences, the social sciences and the arts and humanities.

Academic Search Complete

Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals for the humanities, social sciences, physical and biological sciences, engineering, business and interdisciplinary fields, with over 5,500 full-text periodicals. Also includes indexing for some newspapers, books and primary sources.  Coverage: 1887 – present.

ALL Journals  (that UC Davis subscribes to):

Use the  UCD Library Catalog  or  MELVYL catalog to find which journals we subscribe to,  either online or in print.

Online subscriptions:   the catalog will give the link.  NOTE: we sometimes get online content for different years from different sources, R-E-A-D the fine print.
Print subscriptions:    the catalog will give you the call number, location, and indicate whether or not it is checked out.

Electronic Journals A-Z List:

Lists only online journals that UC Davis has an online subscription to.  If we have a print subscription, the journal will not be listed here.

 

LIBRARY CATALOG

(formerly Harvest Catalog) The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out.  If there is an electronic version that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.

Use the catalog to locate books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and any other materials the library owns.

MELVYL UC LIBRARY CATALOG                MELVYL HELP

The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions.  As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials.
MELVYL does index some articles but is not a good option for searching for articles in the sciences. (Click on the ARTICLES link in this guide to access article databases.)

The REQUEST button:   allows you to request items from other institutions (UC and non-UC).

 


Google Books                    Google Books-Help

Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book.
Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright).

But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are intereted in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in the UCD Library Catalog or Melvyl


WorldCat Catalog

OCLC catalog: millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.

Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

 



 

EBL_Ebrary_EBSCOeBookFAQs

More Publisher Collections

Springer eBooks Package-

Springer eBooks include more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences.

 

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection – NOTE: Interface does not separate ebooks from Wiley ejournals.

Over 2,000 books with 2011-2016 publication dates. The Wiley ebook license comes with broad and favorable rights for, scientific, scholarly and educational uses.

 

UC Press eBooks Collection [via eScholarship]

The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library’s eScholarship program.

 


Books  is a searchable database of books, but not all the content is available for free. To search for full-text books only:

  1. Go to the Advanced Book Search
  2. Specify your search criteria
  3. Make sure you select Search:  Full View Only

HathiTrust is a collection of books digitized by US research libraries. You can search the full-text of over 10 million books, but access to some of the content is restricted. To search for full-text books only:

  1. Use theFull-text Search
  2. Enter your search terms
  3. Limit to: Full View Only   (UC Davis is a partner member of HathiTrust. If you would like to download full PDFs of public domain books, you must login.)

EndNote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents.  Available, and free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).

Two versions are available:

  • Endnote client/desktop:   Requires installation of software, more powerful, best choice for faculty and grad students.   

    • To download,  log-on to MyUCDavis,
      • RESOURCES > SOFTWARE > Type EndNote in the search box >  Select download link that corresponds to your desktop’s operations system.
    • For installation help, contact Campus IET or your department’s computer support.
  • EndnoteWeb:   Requires online registration. EndNoteWeb allows you to store, share, and organize your research content.

    • Web-based; able to access content 24/7.
    • Perfect for sharing citations with a group.

Training Videos

Below are training videos on the major elements of the EndNote Program. For more information, you are welcome to browse EndNote’€™s full selection of training videos on YouTube by going to their channel, EndNote Training.

EndNote Introduction

EndNote on Windows

EndNote on the MacIntosh

What’s New in X8


Links & Resources

Instructions for Importing Citations into EndNote
Directions for transferring citations into EndNote for the Mac and Windows are given for the version indicated.  EndNote Web operates independently of version updates.

Windows (X7)

Macintosh (X7)

EndNote Web


CITING

APA Style Manual

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (6th edition) – American Psychological Association

Call Number: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010 (Lib Use Only)

ISBN: 1433805596

Additional copies are available:
Shields Reserves WZ 345 P83 2010 (Two Hour Loan)
Phy Sci Engr Library Reference BF76.7 .P83 2010 (Lib Use Only)
Carlson Health Sci Library Reference WZ 345 P83 2010 (Lib Use Only)
Blaisdell Medical Library Reference WZ 345 P83 2010 (Lib Use Only)
Blaisdell Medical Lib Reserves WZ 345 P83 2010 (One Week Loan)


Recommended Guides

Visit these reputable sources for examples of APA style citations.

Purdue OWL: APA Formatting and Style Guide

This comprehensive resource from Purdue University includes instructions on creating in-text citations and References lists.

APA Citation Quick Guide

Created by the University of California Libraries.

 


Citation Generators

These free tools prompt you to enter in the components of a citation, and configure the elements according to APA guidelines. Make sure you verify the accuracy of your results by consulting the Publication Manual!

Citation Builder

Developed by the North Carolina State University Libraries.

KnightCite

This site is maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College in Michigan. Select ‘APA’ from the Citation Styles menu.

Son of Citation Machine

Select the type of source you are citing and complete the web form. For books, you can enter an ISBN to populate the form automatically.

NoodleTools Express

This tool is useful if you only need to generate citations for a couple of sources.

What is it? 

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID)- distinguishes your research from other researchers by providing a persistent digital identifier.

What it does:

  • resolve name ambiguity
  • seamlessly links to multiple research formats, i.e., grants, manuscripts, etc.
  • ensures that your work is recognized

Sign up for an ORCiD account:

Register in three easy steps: https://orcid.org/

 


 What is it?

Altmetric provides a social media profile for an article, including: blogs, tweets,  Facebook, Google+, CiteULike, Wikipedia, Mendeley, Connotea,  Reddit, and news outlets that have referenced the article.  Includes links to postings and metrics.

What it does: 

  • Provides a collated record of who’s saying what about your published work
  • Helps you to monitor and track early engagement
  • Identifies the most effective channels, i.e., Twitter, Facebook, eBlogger

Sign up for an Altmetrics Bookmarklet: it is FREE!!!

Go to  http://www.altmetric.com/bookmarklet.php.
Grab and drag the ALTMETRICS Bookmarklet to your toolbar.

Altmetrics sells access to three products:   Explorer, Embeddable badges, Altmetric API.

 

Handbook of Transportation Engineering

Location: PSE TA1151 .H35 2011

SAE Handbook

Location: PSE Media TL5 .S6 2008 CD-ROM

Traffic Engineering Handbook

Location: PSE Reference HE333 .T68 2009

Trip Generation Handbook: An ITE recommended practice

Location: Shields HE371.A3 T758 2004

Urban Street Geometric Design Handbook

Location: PSE TE175 .U73 2008

Browse by Subject

Browse by Publication title

Provides an overview of climate changes and its effect on business, society and the environment.

Caters to those who need to know what’s happening to issues on Capital Hill.

Designed to provide deep, broad and insightful coverage of the transformation of the Energy sector.

Access journal articles and accepted manuscripts resulting from DOE research funding

This site provides population statistics as well as data on land area, natural resources, energy and the economy.

Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.

University of California, Davis

Institute of Transportation Studies.

University of California, Berkeley

Institute of Transportation Studies. See also the Harmer E. Davis Transportation Library

University of California, Los Angeles

Institute of Transportation Studies.

University of California, Irvine

Institute of Transportation Studies.