In this Guide:

America: History and Life [via EBSCO]
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, including ethnic history and relations, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.
Coverage: 1964-present

BIOSIS Previews [via Web of Science]
More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
Coverage: 1926-present

Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews, 2010
Online BIOSIS information
Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts

Business Source Complete [via Ebsco]
Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.

CompPile
The purpose of CompPile is to allow ready reference to the published twentieth-century work in post-secondary composition and rhetoric, from the beginning of WWII to the end of the century. It does not extend before 1939 or after 1999. It is an on-line, keyworded, searchable inventory for researchers and teachers and anybody else interested. CompPile is offered in the spirit of free research and scholarship. Use of this bibliography for profit, however, requires our permission. CompPile’s focus is on post-secondary writing (not speaking or conversing). It integrates journal articles, review-essays, notes and comments, books, dissertations, ERIC items, and edited collections. It does not systematically cover textbooks, how-to books, conference notices, editor’s forwards, or reviews of single works.

Education Source [via EBSCO]
Education Source is the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

ERIC [via U.S. Government]
Copy and paste titles of journals or books from search results into Harvest catalog to determine their availability.

Ethnic Newswatch [via ProQuest]
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States.

Gender Watch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts [via Proquest]
“CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.”

Coverage: 1973-present
Related: Fact Sheet
Help

MLA International Bibliography [via Proquest]
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.
Coverage: 1926-present
Related: Instructions on importing citations using Endnote (see Links & Resources section)
MLA Directory of Periodicals

PsycINFO [via Proquest]
PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.
Coverage: 1840-present
PsycINFO Lib Guide [ProQuest]
Setting up Alerts

PubMed
More than 26 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform.
Coverage: 1946-present
PubMed Tutorial & more
•Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]

Science.gov
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Search selected science and technology web sites and government databases. Sciencegov

Sociological Abstracts [via Proquest]
Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Coverage: 1963-present

Academic Search Complete [via EBSCO]
The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Access World News [via NewsBank]
Access World News provides searchable full-text articles from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Dissertation Abstracts – Dissertations and Theses [via Proquest]
Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access to dissertations from UC campuses is free.

Historical Newspapers Online
Search the following Chadwyck-Healey databases: Palmer’s Index to The Times, 1790-1905 (with full text from 1800-1870) the Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980, and the Historical Index to The New York Times, 1851-1922.

LexisNexis Academic
A large collection of full text news and articles from the U.S. and and global sources. Transcripts from major news media shows are included. Also includes U.S. and International (Canadian and EU) legal resources and it’s an excellent source for business news and company reports.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Part 1
New York Times (1851-2009)

Los Angeles Times (1881-1990)

Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)

Wall Street Journal (1889-1996)

Chicago Tribune, (1849-1990)

Chicago Defender (1909-1975)

Washington Post (1877-1997)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Part 2
San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922)

Arizona Republican (1890-1922)

St Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922)

Web of Science [via Web of Knowledge]

NEW interface loaded July 17, 2011 — result retrievals will be larger due to search design changes.Provides access to the content from three Thomson Reuters ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) Citation Databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries [via Alexander Street Press]
A full text collection of letters and diaries by hundreds of participants and witnesses to the Civil War. Includes biographies, bibliographies and a day-by-day record of events, all accessible via a detailed search engine.
Coverage: 1861-1865

American Memory [Library of Congress]
American Memory provides open access to full text historical documents and materials from the Library of Congress. Includes written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

ARTstor
ARTStor is a library of digital images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. It contains a searchable database of hundreds of thousands of digital images, covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

For off-campus access, first register with ARTstor from a computer on campus. Then, you may login from off campus with your ARTstor ID by going directly to www.artstor.org. Or, you may use the Client VPN or the Proxy Server.

Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations [via Bartleby.com]
Tenth edition of 1919 with over 11,000 searchable quotations.

Calisphere [via the University of California]
“Calisphere is the University of California’s free public gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history. Calisphere’s content has been selected from the libraries and museums of the UC campuses, and from a variety of cultural heritage organizations.”

Chronicling America
This site sponsored by the Library of Congress allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Over a period of approximately 20 years, NDNP will create a national, digital resource of historically significant newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 from all U.S. states and territories. Currently, the site contains selected newspapers from California (The San Francisco Call, Sacramento Record-Union), District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Virginia and Washington.
Coverage: 1836-1922 some full text papers; 1690 – present is a bibliographic record for newspaper titles.

Columbia World of Quotations [via Bartleby.com]
Authoritative collection of 65,000 essential quotations.

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
The Digital National Security Archive contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 34 collections consisting of over 80,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Together, these collections offer unparalleled access to the defining international strategies of our time. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included.
Dissertation Abstracts International / Dissertations & Theses [via ProQuest] Icon
Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
Publication date coverage: 1861-present

Documenting the American South
Created at UNC-Chapel Hill, this is a collection of primary sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the twentieth century. Includes numerous digitized slave narratives.

JSTOR
JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Related:
About J Stor
Visit this page to learn about the holdings of JSTOR journals. See Harvest Library Catalog for UC Davis access to recent and current materials.

Making of America
Making of America is a digital library of 19th century primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Includes full text of both books and journals.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.This website contains information about the initiative, how to set up Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) programmes, how to create and locate ETDs, and current research in digital libraries related to NDLTD and ETDs.

OATD – Open Access Theses and Dissertations

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 1,805,299 theses and dissertations.

Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Taylor and Francis: collection of online journals
Advanced search interface for nearly 1000 online journals published with the Routledge, Taylor & Francis, and Psychology Press imprints. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary.

Theses Canada
Theses and dissertations in the Library and Archives of Canada. Full-text theses in PDF format available for some documents. The mission of Theses Canada is to acquire and preserve a comprehensive collection of Canadian theses at the Library and Archives of Canada and provide access to this valuable research within Canada and throughout the world.As of 2008 there are approximately 300,000 theses and dissertations on microform in Library and Archives Canada’s collection. Of these approximately 50,000 are also available electronically.

Times of London Digital Archive [via Gale]
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2008.

The “Access World News” database contains both the daily and Sunday Times, 1985-present.

UC Press eBooks Collection [via eScholarship]
The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library’s eScholarship program. About 25% of the titles are available to the general public; the rest are for University of California faculty, staff, and students only.
Coverage: 1982-2004

American Anthropological Association (AAA) Style Guide
An outline of style rules for AAA journals. Does not apply to newsletters, which deviate frequently from these guidelines in the interest of space and tend to follow many Associated Press style rules.

APA Citations Quick Guide
Designed as a help sheet for those new to the American Psychological Society’s Publishing Style, this site will give you the basics on citing resources the APA way, and point you to more substantial information.

Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems, the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars. The humanities style is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system. The more concise author-date system has long been used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.

MLA Style Guide [UC Davis Library]
Guide to basic guidelines for using MLA Style in research papers, with link to printable PDF version of page.

Related: For more information, consult the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (2nd floor Shields Library, H/SS Protected Reference, LB2369 .G53 2003; older editions in general stacks)

Print and Electronic Citation Guides [UC Davis Library]
Extensive listing of electronic and printed guides to citing printed and electronic works and preparing biblographies. Covers humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
These guidelines for engineering writing and scientific writing are designed to help students communicate their technical work. To that end, these guidelines contain advice, models, and exercises for common writing and speaking assignments in engineering and science.

Acronym Finder
Decipher acronymns and abbreviations. Includes reverse look-up.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online
A searchable, digital edition of the authoritative Dictionary of Canadian Biography. This phase presents persons who died between the years 1000 and 1930 or whose last known date of activity falls within these years.

Paper Edition available:
H/SS/GIS Reference F1005 D49

Dictionary of the History of Ideas [Digital Version]
This is an online version of a PREVIOUS Edition of the Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas(DHI),in five volumes and edited by Philip P. Wiener, was published by Charles Scribner’s Sons, New York, in 1973-74 (Shields Library CB5 .D52) This e-version is made available through the University of Virginia’s Electronic Text Center.

A NEWER Edition is available on paper in the HSSGIS Reference Collection (2nd floor Shields) Call #CB9 .N49 2005

Infoplease
Access to the Information Please Almanac, Infoplease Atlas, Dictionary and Thesaurus, and Columbia Encyclopedia.

Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary [via Encyclopedia Britannica]
Licensed online version of the Merriam-Webster”s Collegiate Dictionary.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
“The OED is an historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis, illustrated by quotations from a wide range of sources.”

American Copy Editors Society (ACES)
The American Copy Editors Society (ACES), a professional organization of copy editors, is dedicated to improving the quality of journalism and the working lives of journalists. Our main purpose is to educate our members–and others in the news business–in ways of improving the standards of copy editing and increasing the value the news industry places on our craft. While our primary focus is on newspaper copy editing, we welcome editors from other publications, as well as academic representatives and students.

The organization has many roots, growing out of meetings sponsored by the American Society of Newspaper Editors, meetings of Southeast editors and the desire of many others to address copy editing issues.

If you are concerned about the state or status of copy editing and want to lend a hand, please get in touch with any ACES representative. We welcome you.

American Medical Writers Association (AMWA)
The American Medical Writers Association (AMWA), founded in 1940, is the leading professional organization for medical communicators. The more than 5,400 members from around the world include a variety of medical communicators. If you write, edit, or are employed in the field of medical communication as a teacher or as a specialist in multimedia, public relations, advertising, or marketing, you belong in AMWA. AMWA enhances the professionalism of freelance medical writers and editors and of those employed by a hospital, medical school, clinic, health sciences center, foundation, or nonprofit association, or by a pharmaceutical, medical communication, or biotechnology company. Membership in AMWA is open to anyone interested in any aspect of medical communication. Student membership is available to full-time students.

American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA)
Founded in 1948, the American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA) is the nation’s leading organization of independent nonfiction writers. Our membership consists of more than 1,100 outstanding freelance writers of magazine articles, trade books, and many other forms of nonfiction writing, each of whom has met ASJA’s exacting standards of professional achievement. ASJA brings leadership in establishing professional and ethical standards, and in recognizing and encouraging the pursuit of excellence in nonfiction writing. ASJA headquarters are in New York City. The Society has active regional chapters in Northern and Southern California, the Rocky Mountain area, and Washington, DC.

Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC)
The Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) is a non-profit, educational association of journalism and mass communication faculty, administrators, students and media professionals. Dedicated to promoting the highest standards for education, the Association provides an abundance of resources for news, research and career opportunities, including a multicultural network of practitioners from every discipline of journalism and mass communication. Founded in Chicago in 1912, AEJMC is the oldest and largest alliance of journalism and mass communication educators and administrators at the college level. Today, the Association has some 3,600 members around the world. AEJMC conventions attract more than half these members each year to various destinations throughout the United States and Canada.

Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP)
The mission of The Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP) is to foster literary talent and achievement, to advance the art of writing as essential to a good education, and to serve the makers, teachers, students, and readers of contemporary writing. AWP’s members have provided literary education to students and aspiring writers from all backgrounds, economic classes, races, and ethnic origins. AWP has helped to establish the largest system of literary patronage the world has ever seen. AWP has supported the development of hundreds of educational programs, conferences, reading series, and literary magazines as well as thousands of jobs for writers and new audiences for contemporary literature. AWP’s members teach in hospitals, prisons, elementary schools, high schools, and community centers as well as in colleges and universities.

Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC)
The Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC) supports and promotes the teaching and study of college composition and communication by 1) sponsoring meetings and publishing scholarly materials for the exchange of knowledge about composition, composition pedagogy, and rhetoric; 2) supporting a wide range of research on composition, communication, and rhetoric; 3) working to enhance the conditions for learning and teaching college composition and to promote professional development; and 4) acting as an advocate for language and literacy education nationally and internationally.

Council for the Advancement of Science Writing (CASW)
The Council for the Advancement of Science Writing (CASW) is committed to improving the quality of science news reaching the public. Comprised of a panel of distinguished journalists and scientists, CASW develops and funds programs to help reporters and writers produce accurate and informative stories about developments in science, technology, medicine and the environment. The Council’s contributions to science writing were recognized in 2003 when it received the prestigious Public Service Award of the National Science Board, which advises the president and Congress on science and oversees the research programs of the National Science Foundation.

Council of Science Editors (CSE)
The Council of Science Editors (CSE) serves members in the scientific, scientific publishing, and information science communities by fostering networking, education, discussion, and exchange and to be an authoritative resource on current and emerging issues in the communication of scientific information. The Council of Biology Editors (CBE) became the Council of Science Editors on January 1, 2000. The new name, which was voted on by the membership during 1999, more accurately reflects our expanding membership. CBE was established in 1957 by joint action of the National Science Foundation and the American Institute of Biological Sciences. Today, it enjoys close relationships with a number of scientific publishing organizations, both national and international, but it functions autonomously, relying on the vigor of its more than 1,200 members to attain the goals of the organization.

Council of Writing Program Administrators (WPA)
The Council of Writing Program Administrators (WPA) is a national association of college and university faculty with professional responsibilities for (or interests in) directing writing programs. Members include directors of freshman composition, undergraduate writing, WAC/WID/CAC, and writing centers, as well as department chairs, division heads, deans, and so on. WPA publishes a journal and newsletter, holds an annual workshop and conference, makes grants and awards, develops position statements, offers consulting and program evaluation, and fosters extensive discussions about college writing and writing programs. Faculty and graduate students with professional interests in writing program administration are cordially invited to join WPA.

Modern Language Association of America (MLA)
Founded in 1883, the Modern Language Association of America (MLA) provides opportunities for its members to share their scholarly findings and teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy. MLA members host an annual convention and other meetings, work with related organizations, and sustain one of the finest publishing programs in the humanities. For over a hundred years, members have worked to strengthen the study and teaching of language and literature.

National Association of Science Writers (NASW)
In 1934, a dozen pioneering science reporters established the National Association of Science Writers (NASW) at a meeting in New York. They wanted a forum in which to join forces to improve their craft and encourage conditions that promote good science writing. The association was formally incorporated in 1955 with a charter to “foster the dissemination of accurate information regarding science through all media normally devoted to informing the public.” Over the years, its officers have included both freelancers and employees of most of the major newspapers, wire services, magazines, and broadcast outlets in the country. Above all, NASW fights for the free flow of science news.

National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
The National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education. Since 1911, NCTE has provided a forum for the profession, an array of opportunities for teachers to continue their professional growth throughout their careers, and a framework for cooperation to deal with issues that affect the teaching of English.

National Writers Union (NWU)
The National Writers Union (NWU) is the trade union for freelance and contract writers: journalists, book authors, business and technical writers, web content providers, and poets. With the combined strength of nearly 2,000 members in 16 chapters nationwide, and with the support of the United Automobile Workers (UAW), the Union works to defend the rights and improve the economic and working conditions of all writers.

Northern California Science Writers Association (NCSWA)
Established in 1978, the Northern California Science Writers Association (NCSWA) currently has more than 200 members who live and work in Northern California. NCSWA members reside in locales that range from Santa Cruz to Sea Cliff and from Sacramento to San Francisco. The largest group lives in San Francisco, the East Bay, and Silicon Valley. The NCSWA includes newspaper science reporters, popular and trade magazine writers and editors, radio and television broadcasters, public information officers, marketing copywriters, and technical writers. Members cover such topics as agriculture, anthropology, astronomy, behavior, biology, chemistry, computers, earth sciences, environmental issues, medicine, and physics.

Society of Environmental Journalists (SEJ)
The Society of Environmental Journalists (SEJ) was founded in 1990 by a small group of award-winning journalists, including reporters, editors, and producers working for The Philadelphia Inquirer, USA Today, Turner Broadcasting, Minnesota Public Radio, and National Geographic. Today, SEJ’s membership includes more than 1,300 journalists and academics working in every type of news media in the United States, Canada and at least 30 other countries. SEJ’s reputation for excellence, service, and integrity has been built upon annual conferences hosted by distinguished universities, scores of regional events, unique publications, on-line services, in-the-newsroom training sessions, and an extensive membership network. As a 501(c)3 non-profit educational organization, SEJ provides educational opportunities and vital support to journalists of all media who face the challenging responsibility of covering complex environmental issues.

Society for Technical Communication (STC)
The Society for Technical Communication (STC) is an individual membership organization dedicated to advancing the arts and sciences of technical communication. It is the largest organization of its type in the world. Its 14,000 members include technical writers and editors, content developers, documentation specialists, technical illustrators, instructional designers, academics, information architects, usability and human factors professionals, visual designers, Web designers and developers, and translators – anyone whose work makes technical information available to those who need it. Society membership provides opportunities for ongoing learning and professional networking. Through the efforts of a small, full-time staff and a large network of volunteers, STC promotes the public welfare by educating its members and industry about issues concerning technical communication.

How to Write a Paper in Scientific Journal Style and Format
An excellent guide to general content, style, and format guidelines for biology students learning to write papers in a standard, scientific journal style and format
Library Research Aids: How Do I…? Guides
These guides include Choose a Research Topic, 5 Steps to Better Library Research, Find a Book, and more.

Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University
The Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University was established at Harvard in 1937 in memory of Agnes Wahl Nieman’s husband, Lucius W. Nieman, founder of The Milwaukee Journal. She stated the goal was “to promote and elevate the standards of journalism in the United States and educate persons deemed especially qualified for journalism.” The foundation is home to the Nieman Fellowships. Today the Nieman Fellowships are the oldest and best-known mid-career program for journalists in the world. The Nieman Foundation has been a model for similar programs at universities and centers here and abroad. More than 1,200 journalists from the U.S. and 88 other countries have come to Harvard for a year of learning, exploration and fellowship.

Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.

Recommend A Title For Purchase
Please use this form to suggest a book, journal, or other information resource (including electronic titles) for addition to the UC Davis General Libraries. Your request will be forwarded to the appropriate Librarian Subject Specialist for consideration. It is not always possible to acquire all recommended titles. The Librarian Subject Specialist will be in touch with you regarding your request.

Resources for Writers and Writing Instructors
Jack Lynch’s supplement to his well-regarded grammar and style guide. Jack Lynch is Associate Professor in the English department of the Newark campus of Rutgers University, specializing in the English literature of the eighteenth century.
The Good, The Bad & The Ugly: or, Why It’s a Good Idea to Evaluate Web Sources
From New Mexico State University, this guide includes links to examples of both “good” and “bad” websites.

UC Davis University Writing Program
The University Writing Program is an independent unit in the College of Letters and Science and serves student writers in all majors. It offers lower-division courses in composition, an array of upper-division writing courses in the disciplines and professions, and graduate courses and workshops in the teaching of writing. The Director of the University Writing Program is Christopher Thaiss. The UWP is separate from the English Department (which offers courses in literature and in writing fiction and poetry).

WAC Clearinghouse
The WAC Clearinghouse supports teachers of writing across the disciplines. This site uses a database to allow members to add and update content on the site. The site is hosted by Colorado State University’s Composition Program. The WAC Clearinghouse is a Web site that provides access to information about writing and communication across the curriculum. The Clearinghouse is designed and maintained by Mike Palmquist. It is hosted by the Composition Program at Colorado State University as a public service with the understanding that neither Colorado State University nor any of the other institutions and organizations who are partners in the development of the Clearinghouse make any warranties, either expressed or implied, concerning the accuracy, completeness, reliability, or suitability of the information on Clearinghouse pages. The Clearinghouse is presented in partnership with the International Network of Writing-Across-the-Curriculum Programs.