UWP 101 (Bright)

by Melissa Browne – January 18, 2022

Welcome! Use the resources on this guide to find information for your Annotated Bibliographies and White Papers.

For a comprehensive listing of search tools, visit the UC Davis Library website.

Please see Coronavirus: Library Resources and Services for more information about using the library.

Melissa Browne


Student Services Librarian

mabrowne@ucdavis.edu

530-754-5962

In this Guide:

If you are doing your research from off-campus, follow the instructions to set up the library’s VPN (virtual private network), Pulse Secure, so you can access journal articles, books and book chapters.

  • Login to Pulse Secure with your UC Davis Kerberos ID and Duo two-factor authentication
  • Check your Connection by accessing this article from the journal Computers in Human Behavior, about email communication strategies and team dynamics

Help! I’ve tried and it’s not working. Check our FAQ or submit a Technical Support Request

Consider these questions as you begin your information research:

1. Topic/Research Question: What do you already know? What do you want to investigate?

2. Sources: What types of information would inform your thinking?

Types of Sources: Research Tool:
Books & Book Chapters UC Davis Library Catalog
General Audience and Peer-Reviewed Articles Databases (via Subject Guides)
Web Sources (e.g. reports, organizations) Commercial Search Engine(s), e.g. DuckDuckGo, Google

 

3. Search: What has been published in credible sources?

4. Analyze/Refine: Revision is part of the research (and writing) process!

Narrow the G_A_P to move from Topic to Research Question:

    • Geography, i.e. location or setting
    • Aspect/Angle
    • Population

TOPIC: Impact of the pandemic on relationships

RESEARCH QUESTION: How has the pandemic affected friendships (A) among students (P) at colleges/universities (G)?

CQ Researcher

This tool includes journalistic reports on a range of political and social-policy issues. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature.

Access World News

Use this database to search for news articles from thousands of sources from around the U.S. and the world.

The Atlantic: Essential Coronavirus Coverage

Browse magazine articles about different aspects of the pandemic. Note: The UC Davis Library has fulltext access to content from The Atlantic through several databases, including MasterFILE Premier.

The Economist: Coverage of the Coronavirus

See the instructions to set up your account and access news articles from The Economist.