UWP102G: Environmental Writing

by Sheena Campbell – October 8, 2020

This guide is designed to help you identify sources for your assignments:

  1. Environmental Problem Statement & Annotated Bibliography
  2. White Paper
  3. “Same Topic, Different Mode”
  4. Feature Article

Sheena Campbell

Student Services Department
Student Services Librarian

scampbell@ucdavis.edu

In this Guide:

If you need additional research assistance, take advantage of these options:

  1. Visit the Library’s Research Consultation desk, located on the 2nd floor of the Shields Library* [Currently closed during COVID-19 measures]
    • Hours: M-F 10:00 AM-5:00 PM & Sunday 1-5:00 PM
    • Drop in: No appointment necessary
  2. Research Assistance

*You can make an appointment for a Research Consultation with Sheena via Zoom

Think through these questions as you begin your research:

1. Topic/Problem Statement: What do you already know? What do you need to investigate?

2. Sources: Which types of primary, secondary and tertiary sources might be helpful to find and read?

Types of Sources:Research Tools
Annotated BibliographyOxford Bibliographies Online: Environmental Science
Books, Conference Proceedings & Gov. Docs.Library Search
Journal, Magazine, Newspaper ArticlesDatabases-Subject Guides
Websites (e.g. gov. reports, news, photos)Commercial Search Engine(s)

3. Search: What has been published in credible sources?

4. Analyze/Refine: It’s typical to revise your perspective and search strategies as you work your way through the information research process. If you are finding too much, consider narrowing your focus:

  • Date range
  • Geographic location
  • Specific population
  • Unique aspect

Broad question: What’s the impact of global warming on oceans?

More focused question: Do warming ocean temperatures cause coral bleaching?

Use the UC Davis Library Catalog to search collections available in and through the Library.

 

Tips for locating books in the library:

  1. Note the call number for any title you would like to find, e.g. QH101.C45 2010
  2. Library Map: This will be helpful in locating books with call numbers.
  3. To check out a book, go to the Circulation Desk (at the Shields Library it’s on the 1st floor near the exit).

ProQuest article databases (such as TOXLINE, GeoRef, and Agricultural & Environmental Science Database) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to find out if an article is peer-reviewed.

Use the Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory  to check if your article is peer-reviewed.

  1. Search by journal or publication title (NOT article title).
  2. Locate your journal and then look for the black and white striped  symbol indicating the publication is “Refereed” or peer-reviewed.
GreenWire

The one-stop source for those who need to stay on top of all of today’s major environmental and energy action. With an average of more than 25 stories a day, covering the complete spectrum, from electricity industry restructuring to Clean Air Act litigation to public land management.

See also the related resources linked from this site: EnergyWire; Climatewire; E&E Daily; E&E NewsPM; E&E TV; and Reports.

CQ Researcher

A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

NOAA Photo Library

The collection includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton. The NOAA captures the work, observations and studies of NASA scientists, engineers, and other personnel.

Citing Sources

This guide includes information about commonly used citation styles (MLA, Chicago, APA, etc.). It includes information about style manuals and recommends citation guides that will help you be consistent and clear with your citations.