UWP104D (Crosby): Writing in Elementary and Secondary Education

by Melissa Browne – August 11, 2021

This guide is designed to help you identify sources for your Annotated Bibliography to inform your Major Project Assignments. You can also review the slides from the library presentation.


For a comprehensive listing of scholarly search tools, visit the UC Davis Library website.

See Coronavirus: Library Resources and Services for details about services for Spring Quarter 2021.

Melissa Browne


Student Services Librarian

mabrowne@ucdavis.edu

530-754-5962

In this Guide:

Consider these questions as you begin your information research:

1. Topic/Research Question: What do you already know? What do you want to investigate?

2. Sources: What types of information would inform your thinking?

Types of Sources: Research Tool:
Books & Book Chapters Library Catalog
Journal, Magazine, Newspaper Articles Databases (via Subject Guides)
– Education
– Newspapers & Current Events
– Popular Magazines
Websites (e.g. government reports, statistics) Commercial Search Engine(s)

 

3. Search: What has been published in credible sources?

4. Analyze/Refine: Revision is part of the research (and writing) process!

Narrow the G_A_P to move from Topic to Research Question:

  • Geography, i.e. location or setting
  • Aspect/Angle
  • Population

TOPIC: Teaching with Technology

RESEARCH QUESTION: How does using a tablet/iPad (A) impact the reading comprehension (A) of students (P) in elementary schools (G)?

1. Books & Book Chapters: UC Davis Library Catalog

Search the Library Catalog to find books and other materials available through the UC Davis Library.

KEYWORDS (Any Field)

Examples: “high stakes testing” |  “gifted education”“institutional racism” AND (school* OR education) | LGBT* AND (school* or education)

SUBJECT

Examples: Arts – Study and teachingBullying in schools | Education bilingual – United States | Computer-assisted instruction | English language – Study and teaching – Foreign speakers [use for English Language Learners] | Multicultural education – United States | School attendance or High school dropouts | School gardens [use for gardening programs] | Autistic children – Education | Social justice – Study and teaching

 

TIPS

-Watch Finding Ebooks (2:42) to learn how to limit your searches to ebooks.

-If a book is not available online, note the call number, e.g. LC212.52 .H45 2016 and consult a Library Map to determine its location. To check out a book, go to Circulation (Shields Library 1st floor).


2. Oxford Bibliographies Online: Education

This annotated bibliography includes topic overviews and citations for recommended books, articles and other scholarly sources.

TOPICS: Art Education, Bilingual Education, Bullying/School Bullying, Classroom Management, Culturally Responsive Pedagogies, Differentiated Instruction (Culturally Responsive Teacher Education), Digital Age Teacher/Educational Technology, Gender and Achievement, Gifted Education, Inclusive Education, Special Education, Linguistically Inclusive Pedagogy (English learners), LGBT Youth in Schools, Online Education, Physical Education, Professional Development, Restorative Practices, Social Justice, Teacher Training/Professional Development, Science Education


3. CQ Researcher

This tool includes journalistic reports on a range of political and social-policy issues. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature.

TOPICS: Bilingual Education, Bullying and Cyberbullying, Civic Education, Dropout Rate, Homework Debate, Race and Education, School Discipline, School Safety, STEM Gender Gap

Check the Education Subject Guide for additional search tools for education-related research.


APA citations:


Get Help

If you have questions about search tools or strategies:

  • Ask a Librarian (24/7 online chat service staffed by librarians from the U.S. and U.K.)
  • Send Me an Email (ask a question or request a virtual appointment)