UWP104D: Writing in Elementary and Secondary Education

A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

MasterFile Premier indexes and abstracts over 2,600 popular magazines and periodicals covering topics in the general sciences, technology and health, consumer interests, cultural diversity, education, and current and historical events. More than 1,750 of the periodicals, 500 reference books, 86, 000 biographies, 105,000 primary source documents and thousands of book reviews are available in full text. Included is an Image Collection of nearly 400,000 photos, maps and flags.

Full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for over 600 U.S. newspapers. The “America’s Newspapers” product has been expanded to “Access World News” with many more U.S. and California titles plus hundreds of international news sources.

Current full-text of the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), Wall Street Journal and the Washington Post. For historical backfiles, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Direct Links to the individual papers:
http://uclibs.org/PID/301866                        Chicago Tribune (1985- )
http://uclibs.org/PID/301869                        Los Angeles Times (1985- )
http://uclibs.org/PID/301870                        New York Times (1980- )
http://uclibs.org/PID/301871                        Wall Street Journal (1984- )
http://uclibs.org/PID/301872                        Washington Post (1987- )

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.

Unlimited access to NYTimes.com and NYT Mobile apps, including Spanish and Chinese editions, which cover a variety of topics through breaking news articles, blogs, videos and interactive features. Includes archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access to the archives is available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers). Note: First time users must create a new account at AccessNYT.com using their UCD credentials to gain access. Faculty and Staff must reactivate their accounts here every year.

From teacher retention strategies to early childhood development, the study of education features a range of disciplines including psychology, sociology, history, economics, philosophy, anthropology, and political science. Oxford Bibliographies in Education offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on a variety of topics. Bibliographies are browse-able by subject area and keyword searchable.

“The scholarly study of children and young people is a relatively new multidisciplinary effort that spans multiple epistemologies and methodologies, making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed. From psychology to labor rights, from ethics to education, Childhood Studies is one of the most active fields in academia today. It encompasses the meanings that adults place on children’s innocence or competence, and interrogates the notion of childhood as a social category. . . .   Researchers and practitioners at all levels need tools that help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries. Oxford Bibliographies in Childhood Studies will offer a trustworthy pathway through the thicket of information overload.”

Education Source provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and provides extensive access to educational-related literature.

PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.

Provides abstracts to sociology articles and the literature of related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. Covers over 1,800 journals, and book reviews. Mainly in English, but Includes materials in 30 languages.

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.