UWP 104F: Writing in the Professions: Health

by Erik Davis Fausak, Ruth Gustafson – April 28, 2022

Health Sciences Topic Ideas and Search Terms

Useful sources for finding recent research in all sciences, where you might find interesting topics, are the weekly magazines SCIENCE NEWS and NEW SCIENTIST. In addition, the premier journals SCIENCE and NATURE include the latest innovative research across the sciences. Premier licensed medical journals include JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Association), NEJM (New England Journal of Medicine), Lancet , BMJ (British Medical Journal), and Nature Medicine.  Top open-access medical titles include PLoS Medicine and BMC Medicine.

Once you’ve picked a topic, you will need to think of search terms to use for locating articles and other publications. Search the UC Davis Library online catalog (for books, DVDs and more) and use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) and also (for books owned at the medical libraries) the National Library of Medicine (NLM) terms. Each library subject database also has subject lists/thesauri that can help you precisely search your topic, e.g PubMed has MeSH and BIOSIS Previews has Concept Codes and more.

Erik Fausak

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

edfausak@ucdavis.edu

530-752-6204

In this Guide:

UC Davis has 2 separate health sciences libraries and one life sciences collection in the Shields Library (Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences). Important health sciences information may also be found as part of the Government Information collection of Shields Library, Lower Level. Veterinary information is located at the Carlson Health Sciences Library.

  • Biological, Agricultural @ Environmental Sciences, Shields Library:  The BioAgEnvi Sciences print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Some collections in the environmental sciences are located on the 2nd floor in the G classification areas.
  • Blaisdell Medical Library, Medical Education Building, UC Davis Medical Center
  • Carlson Health Sciences Library, Southwest UCD campus
  • Government Information Collection, Shields Library  —  The UC Davis Library is a federal and state depository library with extensive historical and current collections in print, microform and electronic formats. The UCD Library collects extensively from major international, intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. Agriculture, forestry, the environment and ecology are areas of strength. The UCD Library collects comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library’s collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas. Most government documents and maps are listed in UC Library Search. Some materials, such as technical reports and historical documents, may require specialized indexes and assistance from reference librarians.

The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on writing in the life and health sciences. Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications include: Biology — Authorship; Communication of technical information; Life sciences — Authorship; Medical writing; Proposal writing in biology; Proposal writing for grants; Proposal writing for medicine; Proposal writing for research; Report writing; Technical writing

NOTE: Selected current books on biological/life sciences writing may be found in the Shields Reference collection, 2nd floor Shields (Call numbers ranging from Q-T – check catalog). These cannot be checked out but can be used in the library or chapters may be scanned/copied.

  • UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting
    Replacing UCD Library Catalog on July 27, 2021, the new UC Library Search includes all of the UC library collections.   This setting is specifically for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

NEED a PRINT ONLY ITEM AND CANNOT COME TO CAMPUS?  We’ll ship it to you!  Implemented during COVID time, the UCD Library is continuing with our shipping service.   Make sure to “Sign In” and then click on the REQUEST link and we’ll mail the whole item to you.  Make sure you have your correct address listed, when prompted.

ONLY NEED a chapter or an article from a PRINT ONLY ITEM?  Scanning service available for all UCD affiliates.  Use the DIGITIZATION link but make a note of the specific chapter/article you need and include as much info as you can, especially page number(s), if available.

You may renew your checked-out items up to three times which means for about a full quarter.  Book returning: “If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”

Understanding Call Numbers

Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

Date: 2004

Guide provided by the UCD Health Sciences Libraries to their eBook collections including a select list of major texts, organized by medical specialty.

Health Sciences eBooks

Subject Guides

There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus.  Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major!  This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories:  Agricultural and Environmental SciencesArts & HumanitiesBiological SciencesEngineering & TransportationGeneral & Multidisciplinary SourcesGovernment InformationHealth SciencesPhysical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

Peer Review

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality — by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor — before being accepted for publication.

ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to locate your journal then look for the black and white striped  symbol or referee shirt  Refereed  indicating the publication is “Refereed”

  • Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory  Icon

    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal title, NOT article title. Ulrich’s provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties.

NOTE that *review* journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution. Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in … ; Annual Review of …; Critical Reviews in … ; Current Opinion in … ; Expert Reviews in … ; International Review of … ; Progress in … ; Trends in …

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
Release Coverage: published 1997-2018 (for 1996-2017 data)
Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
Using JCR Wisely

 

Get it at UC (Linking from your library databases)

Brought to you by the UC libraries, the new (as of 7/27/21) “Get it at UC” link helps to link you to *choices* to find the item(s) you are interested in.

Get it at UC button

This link appears in most library literature databases and provides a consistent way of:

1) getting to online articles or book chapters (if licensed) or

2) viewing information about AVAILABILITY of print issues of a journal we own or info on a print book.

Here is a short video about using the “Get it at UC” feature.

If we do not own a journal or book,  do Sign In (UCD login/Kerberos passphrase + DUO) and then

3) make an Interlibrary Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library — often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.