Student Services and Researcher Services Librarian
The UC Davis campus has 3 separate science libraries (two of them in health sciences) and one BioAgEnvi sciences area on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Important science information, including maps, is also found as part of the Government Information Collections of Shields Library, Lower Level.
The UCD Libraries selectively buy materials on writing in the sciences. Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications include: Biology — Authorship; Communication in science; Communication of technical information; Life sciences — Authorship; Medical writing; Proposal writing in biology; Proposal writing for grants; Proposal writing for medicine; Proposal writing for research; Report writing; Specification writing; Technical writing; Visual communication in science
NOTE: If all books in this area are checked out, selected books on science writing may be found in the BioAg Reference collection, 3rd floor Shields. These Reference books are noted as “Library Use Only” which means they should always be available for you to review and copy.
There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus. Find the Subject Guide which best matches your major! This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories: Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Biological Sciences, Engineering & Transportation, General & Multidisciplinary Sources, Government Information, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences
A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality — by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor — before being accepted for publication.
ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black and white striped symbol indicating the publication is “Refereed”.
Clarivate Analytics Journal Citation Reports is a comprehensive tool for assessing the importance of research journals in disciplines and subdisciplines including medical specialties.
NOTE that *review* journals tend to be listed as top ranked titles, taking space away from original research titles, so use with caution. Typical review series may have the following words in their title: Advances in … ; Annual Review of …; Critical Reviews in … ; Current Opinion in … ; Expert Reviews in … ; International Review of … ; Progress in … ; Trends in …
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the summer of the following year. JCR indicates: most frequently cited journals in a field: highest impact journals in a field; and largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences. NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.
Release Coverage: 1997-2015 (for 1996-2014 data)
•Impact Factors in Wikipedia: validity, manipulation, and misuse of Impact Factors
•Using JCR Wisely
Author: UC Davis Libraries
EndNote, licensed for all UCD full-time students, faculty, researchers and staff, is a bibliographic reference manager which enables citations to be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals.
Author: Ruth Gustafson
This webpage is the step-by-step guide for the bi-monthly in-person EndNote Intro course taught in Shields Library.