Veterinary Education

by Erik Davis Fausak – June 22, 2020

Training individuals in the veterinary field requires understanding of educational concepts and clinical application.   Below are a few useful resources for those involved in education in the veterinary field.

 

Thompson, Henry (1913). Elementary lectures on veterinary science, for agricultural students, farmers, and stockkeepers . London, Baillière, Tindall and Cox retrieved 1/16/18 from https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Elementary_lectures_on_veterinary_science,_for_agricultural_students,_farmers,_and_stockkeepers_(1913)_(14784482545).jpg

 

Subject Guide: Veterinary Medicine

 

Reserve a study space @Carlson

Erik Fausak

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

edfausak@ucdavis.edu

530-752-6204

In this Guide:

1

[No Book Data for this Book Number]

Hodgson, Jennifer L. (Professor of veterinary medicine) editor. Pelzer, Jacquelyn M., editor.
Publication Info: 2017

Veterinary Medical Education: A Practical Guide offers a complete resource to fundamental information on key areas of veterinary education.  Provides a practical guide to the key principles of veterinary medical education Takes a real-world approach, with concrete guidance for teaching veterinary skills and knowledge Covers all aspects of designing and implementing a veterinary curriculum Emphasizes key points and helpful tips Offers a veterinary-specific resource for any veterinary educator worldwide

2

[No Book Data for this Book Number]

Coombes, Nichola, editor. Silva-Fletcher, Ayona, editor.
Call #: Carlson SF756.3 V586 2018
Publication Info: 2018

Developing veterinary clinical skills, the pedagogy

3

[No Book Data for this Book Number]

Paton, Neil, author
Call #: SF657 P312s 2015
Publication Info: 2015

he landscape of the veterinary curriculum has also broadened considerably, with topics like animal behavior, ethics, business management, client communication, veterinary public health, and clinical skills, alongside clinical veterinary medicine. Authored by a Royal Veterinary College instructor with extensive experience within the veterinary profession and with teaching new students, this book provides a thorough explanation of what prospective students can expect to study at veterinary school, and it discusses career options available to new graduates

4

[No Book Data for this Book Number]

Buell, Laurie J., editor. Schenkel, Lisa E., editor. Timperman, Sabrina, editor.
Call #: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ucdavis/detail.action?docID=4816173
Publication Info: 2017

Assessing Essential Skills of Veterinary Technology Students, Third Edition provides students and instructors with clear guidance on how to evaluate student performance of skills required to enter the veterinary technology profession.

Book JacketTitle and Call NumberBook JacketTitle and Call Number
How to assess students and trainees in medicine and health 2013
OM Westwood, A Griffin, & FC Hay
Constructing Written Test Questions for the Basic and Clinical Sciences 2016
National Board of Medical Examiners
Downloadable PDF but have to register
Test Blueprinting I: Selecting an Assessment Method 2019
National Board of Medical Examiners
Test Blueprinting II: Creating a Test Blueprint 2019
NBME

General Education

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and provides extensive access to educational-related literature.
Coverage: 1966-present
Tags: Education
Education Source provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Coverage: 1880-present
Tags: Education

3

VPN
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Medicine, Nursing, Psychiatry, Psychology

4

VPN
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles.
Coverage: 1987-present
Tags: Psychology
Provides abstracts to sociology articles and the literature of related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. Covers over 1,800 journals, and book reviews. Mainly in English, but Includes materials in 30 languages.
Coverage: 1952-present
Tags: Sociology
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.

Clinical Specific Training Resources

Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology.
Coverage: 1973-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Ecology, Plants, Science
Related links:

2

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Coverage: 1902-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine
Related links: PubMed Help
CINAHL Complete provides coverage of journal literature related to nursing, speech and allied health.
Coverage: 1937-present
Tags: Allied Health, Forensics, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacy
Related links: CINAHL Tutorials