Need help accessing an Elsevier journal article?

Click here

In this Guide:

The prime databases to find Veterinary Literature.

 

 

Key Veterinary Databases

The largest collection of veterinary literature, this database is one of the most important databases to search veterinary literature.

 

Indexes a number of veterinary titles despite being primarily for human medicine, due to its sophisticated search features, it is a great place to build your searches.

A large interdisciplinary database like Web of Science Core Collection but carries more veterinary literature in the ‘‘Basic list of veterinary medical serials, third edition’’  than any other database.

Large multidisciplinary database that covers a large amount of veterinary journals, a combined search can also be conducted with Biosis and Zoological Record to reach more veterinary content.

BIOSIS carries many unique veterinary titles that may not be available in larger veterinary databases like CAB Abstracts and Scopus.

This can be searched together with Web of Science Core Collection and Zoological Record.

 

Carries many unique veterinary journals including veterinary nurse or technician titles.

This database can be combined with Web of Science Core Collection and BIOSIS.


Biological Resources

Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management 

WAHIS Interface provides access to all data held within OIE’s new World Animal Health Information System (WAHIS)  

Generic Animal Drug and Patent Restoration Act requires that a list of all animal drug products approved for safety and effectiveness be made available to the public 

OMIA is a database of genes, inherited disorders and traits in more than 135 animal species 

Database indexes resources in all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including animal science, veterinary science 

Covers environmental science topics and agricultural research including agricultural economics, animal and veterinary sciences 

A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas 


Medical Resources

Biomedical and pharmacological database  derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals 

Nursing, biomedical, allied health and consumer health literature 

Current database of systematic reviews of medical research

Global infectious disease knowledge management tool 

Brings together two international databases: Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB Abstracts 

Citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations 

Consolidates interdisciplinary bioethics material 

These are resources designed to be used at the point of care or in the clinical environment to get fast, reliable answers for the clinician and the client.

Point of Care Resources

Point of Care

An online, point-of-care veterinary clinical reference source, currently covering dogs, cats, rabbits and horses

Point of Care

Diagnostic support system for veterinary medicine created by and maintained at Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine.  Creates differential lists based on clinical signs or affected system.

Online Textbook

Information on the health problems affecting animals, addressing the range of diseases, disorders, management issues.

EBVM Critically Appraised Topics

Critically Appraised Topics (Secondary research or filtered interpretation of primary research like Randomized Control Trials) are regularly produced by this Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine product.  Produced by the University of Nottingham’s Centre for Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine


Formularies

formularies

On the shelves of every practice, this is a leading formulary for veterinary medicine.

formularies

This formulary is put out by the British Small Animal Veterinary Association which means some drugs listed may not be available in the USA.  In some cases, this can be helpful because they may have drugs that eventually will be available in the USA (like Jurox’s Alfaxalone).

Formulary

This formulary is put out by the British Small Animal Veterinary Association which means some drugs listed may not be available in the USA.

Formulary

Registration Required but freely accessible to veterinary students.

Provides a number of tools:

  • Veterinary Partner (good information resource for clients)
  • Veterinary Associate (a point of care tool)
  • Forum (veterinarian crowd-sourced answers in these expert moderated forums)
  • Formulary
  • Proceedings of a number of veterinary societies

 

Formulary

Published in 2014, this eBook focuses on equine specific pharmaceuticals.

 

Formulary

Published 2018, this contains a formulary for a wide range of species including avian and invertebrates.


Client Handouts

Client Handouts

Content produced by the British Small Animal Veterinary Association (BSAVA) is available in this resource which includes manuals(books), special topics, proceedings, client handouts, podcasts, formularies and more.  Many reserved readings are BSAVA Manuals and they are available here online.

Client Handouts

A resource to refer clients (freely accessible) or print various handouts.  It covers a wide range of species:

  • dogs
  • cats
  • horses
  • pigs
  • small mammals
  • birds
  • ruminants

Client handouts

Often will have a number of client handouts with each disease covered.

 

 

17% of veterinary literature is attributed to being grey literature.  What is grey literature?  Anything unpublished but still very relevant like conference proceedings, PhD theses, and company or organizational white papers

Conference Proceedings

Conference Proceedings

Incorporates a great deal of production animal conference proceedings like namely, the Annual Convention of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners.

Conference Proceedings

Freely available but requires registration

Contains a number of veterinary conference proceedings around the world as well as e-books.

Conference Proceedings

Registration Required but freely accessible to veterinary students.

Provides a number of tools:

  • Veterinary Partner (good information resource for clients)
  • Veterinary Associate (a point of care tool)
  • Forum (veterinarian crowd-sourced answers in these expert moderated forums)
  • Formulary
  • Proceedings of a number of veterinary societies

Conference Proceedings

Contains proceedings of the British Small Animal Veterinary Association.

Conference Proceedings

contains a number of conference proceedings as well as the largest quantity of veterinary titles.

 


Theses

Theses

LILACS (Latin American & Caribbean Health Sciences Literature) covers literature related to the health sciences and has been published in countries of Latin America and the Caribbean since 1982, and is published by WHO Regional Offices. It contains articles from about 670 of the most well-known journals in the medicine field, plus other documents such as: theses, books, conference proceedings, scientific reports and governmental publications.

Theses

Contains dissertations and theses since 1997.

 

Theses

International in scope, electronic analogues to paper-based theses and dissertations.

Theses

International in scope, open access resource to theses and dissertations.

Theses

Open access theses and dissertations on the ProQuest platform interface.

Theses

Theses and dissertations in the Library and Archives of Canada.

Broad Grey Literature

Google Scholar is a search engine that combs a wide variety of sites that contain proceedings, white papers, and theses from multiple disciplines.

Resources for identifying researchers in the field and the impact of an institution, author, journal or article.

Researcher Information

Researcher Profiles

Find researcher profiles, research units, projects, research output, and other key aspects of research at UC Davis School of Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, and School of Nursing.

Find Author Publications

Elsevier’s Scopus has one of the largest collections of Veterinary Core Literature.  Authors can also be found by Orcid ID.  Additionally, literature can be found by institution output.

Find Author Publications

Clarivate’s Web of Science Citations Index is a strong tool to find author publications.  Also allows investigation of literature by institution and subject area.


Journal Impact

Journal Impact

Provides Journal Impact Factor, Eigenfactor, Contributions by Country and Institution.

Find Journal Impact

Provides Citescore, Scientific Journal Ranking (SJR Scimago) and Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP)

Find Journal Impact

Provides H-index and includes examination of citations per document of articles within or outside the journal and measures international collaboration.

Journal Impact

Provides H-factor from Google Scholar data, whereas Scimago provides H-factor from Elsevier’s Scopus.


Finding Where to Publish

Publishing Tools

UC Davis Library Open Access Fund

As long as you publish in an open access journal published in the Directory of Open Access Journals, UC DAvis Library will help cover your APC fees.

Publishing tools

paste your article abstract and JANE will match your abstract to similar journals.

Publishing Tools

Put in your research field and your article title and abstract and this tool will help you find a journal.

Below is a very incomplete list of the veterinary electronic journals accessible at UC Davis. Use article databases such as CAB or PubMed, or Browzine or the ‘Library Catalog’ tab in Library Search to find and access the myriad print and online journals available.  Links to full-text should work if you are on the UC Davis Network or logged onto the VPN.
Contact us with any problems or questions.

Library Catalog  Journals A-Z
Browzine JournalsBiomedical and Health Sciences;  Veterinary Medicine

New Veterinary Books

Veterinary Psychopharmacology
SL Crowell-Davis, TR Murray, & LM de Souza Dantas
2019
BSAVA Manual of Reptiles
SJ Girling & P Raiti
2019
Veterinary Reproduction and Obstetrics
DE Noakes, TJ Parkinson, & GCW England
2019
Medical and Veterinary Entomology
GR Mullen & LA Durden
2019
Ophthalmic Disease in Veterinary Medicine
CL Martin, PJ Pickett, & BM Spiess
2019
BSAVA Guide to Pain Management

I Self

2019

These are a few of the electronic books that the UC Davis Library has on veterinary-related topics. Use the ‘Library Catalog’ tab in Library Search to find and access the myriad print and electronic books available.  Links to full-text should work if you are on the UC Davis Network or logged onto the VPN.
Contact us with any problems or questions.

Veterinary Medicine eBook Collections

Readings (including books, chapters, articles, websites, and tutorials) for each veterinary medicine block.

These guides are based on the recommended reading lists for the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) Recognized Specialty Veterinary Organizations (RSVOs) examinations.  The information is intended to help UCD’s veterinary residents readily locate the UC Davis Library copies of these materials.

Veterinary Residency Specialty Boards

The tutorial introduces the concepts of Evidence-based Veterinary Medicine (EBVM), and aims to give you a foundation from which you can start to apply EBVM to your own veterinary work.  After a general introduction to the principles of EBVM, each chapter explains one of the five main principles of the methodology. These chapters include detailed examples, opportunities for you to reflect on what you’ve learned, and quizzes for you to check your understanding.

A set of open-source teaching modules on antimicrobial resistance in veterinary medicine.  These open-source teaching modules are designed for integration into existing veterinary school courses regarding Pharmacology, Microbiology, Public Health, and Species-specific medicine.  Other interested visitors to the site include researchers, microbiologists, epidemiologists and animal scientists.  Contributors include Michigan State University, the University of Minnesota and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

A virtual module on bovine necropsy, this module provides a step-by-step video demonstrating the bovine field necropsy, diagnostic sample collection, packaging, and shipping procedures. The visual reference contains images and text descriptions of normal tissues and gross pathologic lesions. Versatile search parameters support both diagnostic and educational uses.  This is a free resource designed for vet students and vets.  Registration is required.

Library Homepage Introduction
Why Search the Library Catalog?
Finding e-Books
Locating Articles through Subject Guides
UCD e-Links
Using Google Scholar
Use VPN
How to Install Kopernio
How to Install Unpaywall
How to Install Open Access Button
Find your Subject Librarian
Keyword Searching
Write Like a Professor

 

Cab Abstracts
PubMed
Scopus
Web of Science
UC Resources
EBVM toolkit
Database tips
Selecting resources